Black Opal’s current ratio fell from 8.70 to 1.92 in June
Ask Iris
Black Opal Consultants Limited’s current ratio fell from 8.70 at March 31, 2025 to 1.92 at June 30, 2025 as current liabilities increased to Rs 9.36 crore from Rs 1.85 crore. A Rs 4 crore related-party borrowing repayable on demand and Rs 2.95 crore of other advances received drove most of the increase.
Why did Black Opal’s current ratio fall from 8.70 to 1.92?
Black Opal’s current ratio declined because current liabilities rose far faster than current assets in the period ended June 30, 2025. The current ratio divides current assets by current liabilities, showing the reported current-asset amount available for each rupee of current obligations. Current assets increased by Rs 1.95 crore to Rs 18.01 crore, while current liabilities rose by Rs 7.51 crore to Rs 9.36 crore.
The March 31, 2025 ratio of 8.70 was based on Rs 16.06 crore of current assets and Rs 1.85 crore of current liabilities. At June 30, 2025, the Rs 18.01 crore of reported current assets exceeded the Rs 9.36 crore of current liabilities, but the liability increase reduced the ratio by 6.78 times. A higher ratio in a later period would require a change in current assets, current liabilities, or both under the applicable accounting classifications.
Which liabilities caused Black Opal’s June 2025 increase?
Black Opal’s largest new current liability was Rs 4 crore of unsecured loans and advances from related parties, classified as repayable on demand at June 30, 2025. The balance was nil at March 31, 2025, while current maturities of long-term debt increased only to Rs 9.15 lakh from Rs 8.99 lakh. The short-term borrowing note does not identify the related-party lender or provide repayment terms beyond the on-demand classification.
Other current liabilities increased by Rs 2.91 crore to Rs 3.44 crore, principally because Black Opal reported Rs 2.95 crore of other advances received with no comparable March 31 balance. The June total also included goods and services tax, or GST, payable of Rs 15.60 lakh, tax deducted at source, or TDS, payable of Rs 8.15 lakh, and interest payable on loans of Rs 3.17 lakh. GST payable declined from Rs 31.47 lakh at March 31, 2025, but that reduction was outweighed by the new advances received.
Trade payables rose to Rs 58.80 lakh from Rs 16.40 lakh, and short-term provisions increased to Rs 1.24 crore from Rs 1.05 crore. June provisions included Rs 1.06 crore of income tax payable for assessment year 2025-26 and Rs 17.61 lakh of income-tax provision. Black Opal reported that Rs 56.48 lakh of its Rs 58.80 lakh trade-payable balance was less than one year old, Rs 2.33 lakh was one to two years old, and no amount was overdue to micro, small and medium enterprises.
What made up Black Opal’s reported current assets?
Black Opal’s largest reported current-asset category was Rs 10.81 crore of loans and advances to related parties at June 30, 2025. That balance represented about 60% of the Rs 18.01 crore current-asset total, compared with Rs 11.81 crore, or about 74%, of the Rs 16.06 crore March 31 total. The related-party advance balance fell by Rs 1 crore, but remained the largest component of reported current assets.
Trade receivables increased by Rs 1.26 crore to Rs 3.62 crore at June 30, 2025. Black Opal classified all Rs 3.62 crore as unsecured and considered good, comprising Rs 3.60 crore less than six months old and Rs 1.92 lakh between one and two years old; it reported no provision for doubtful receivables. Cash and bank balances rose to Rs 3.14 crore from Rs 1.77 crore, including Rs 2.01 crore in current accounts and Rs 1.12 crore in balances with maturity after 12 months, including accrued interest.
Other loans and advances were Rs 28.65 lakh at June 30, 2025, compared with Rs 11,000 at March 31, 2025. Black Opal also reported Rs 7 lakh of expenses incurred for its initial public offer as other current assets, compared with Rs 5 lakh at March 31. The financial statements state management’s view that current assets, loans and advances have a realisable value in the ordinary course of business at least equal to their carrying amount, except where otherwise indicated.
How does the liability change affect Black Opal’s funding position?
Black Opal’s June short-term borrowing total was substantially dependent on the related-party demand borrowing. The Rs 4 crore related-party balance represented about 98% of the Rs 4.09 crore of short-term borrowings at June 30, 2025, whereas the March 31 total of Rs 8.99 lakh consisted of current maturities of the bank term loan. The bank term loan is secured by a Mercedes car, with a Rs 9.15 lakh current portion at June 30 and a Rs 8.97 lakh non-current portion.
Black Opal reported Rs 3.42 lakh of interest expense on borrowings from others for the period ended June 30, 2025, while it reported no such expense for the year ended March 31, 2025. The filing does not state an interest rate, repayment schedule or whether that expense relates entirely to the Rs 4 crore related-party borrowing. Bank-borrowing interest was Rs 33,000 in the June period, compared with Rs 4.50 lakh for the year ended March 31, 2025.
Black Opal recorded Rs 17.45 crore of service-charge revenue and Rs 10.73 crore of commission expense for the period ended June 30, 2025. These partial-period figures are not directly comparable with service-charge revenue of Rs 32.86 crore and commission expense of Rs 14.40 crore for the full year ended March 31, 2025. Settlement, renewal or repayment of demand liabilities, alongside collection of receivables and related-party advances, will affect subsequent current-liability and current-asset balances.
What information remains unresolved in Black Opal’s disclosures?
Black Opal’s disclosures leave the timing of major June current liabilities unresolved. The Rs 4 crore related-party borrowing is expressly repayable on demand, while the Rs 2.95 crore of other advances received is recorded without a disclosed counterparty, service obligation or settlement date. Together, these two items were Rs 6.95 crore, exceeding 92% of the Rs 7.51 crore increase in current liabilities from March 31.
The disclosures also do not provide counterparty-level details, security terms or collection dates for the Rs 10.81 crore of current related-party advances. Black Opal reported Rs 3.62 crore of trade receivables, of which Rs 3.60 crore was less than six months old, but did not disclose customer-specific payment timing. These omissions do not change the reported 1.92 ratio, but they limit assessment of when assets may be realised relative to when demand liabilities may require payment.
Conclusion
Black Opal’s current ratio decline from 8.70 to 1.92 resulted primarily from the addition of short-term obligations rather than a reduction in reported current assets. The Rs 4 crore related-party demand borrowing and Rs 2.95 crore of other advances received accounted for most of the Rs 7.51 crore increase in current liabilities, while reported current assets increased by Rs 1.95 crore.
The next financial update should clarify whether Black Opal repays, renews or otherwise settles the Rs 4 crore demand borrowing and how the Rs 2.95 crore of other advances received will be settled. It should also show whether the Rs 10.81 crore of related-party advances and Rs 3.62 crore of trade receivables are realised as current obligations become due.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
