Papadamali IPO financials report conflicting June balances
Ask Iris
Papadamali Agro Foods Limited’s June 30, 2025 restated financial statements report incompatible inventory and cash balances. The balance sheet records inventory of Rs 20.45 crore and cash of Rs 2.36 lakh, while the detailed notes show Rs 8.20 crore and Rs 0.56 lakh respectively. The supplied pages provide no reconciliation.
Why do Papadamali IPO financials show conflicting June balances?
Papadamali’s balance sheet and its detailed notes report different amounts for the same June 30, 2025 date. Annexure 1 on page 305 lists inventories of Rs 20.45 crore and cash and cash equivalents of Rs 2.36 lakh. Note 13 on page 320 instead totals inventory at Rs 8.20 crore, while Note 15 totals cash and cash equivalents at Rs 0.56 lakh.
The inventory difference is Rs 12.24 crore, calculated from the Rs 20.45 crore balance-sheet amount less the Rs 8.20 crore note total. The cash difference is Rs 1.80 lakh, calculated from Rs 2.36 lakh less Rs 0.56 lakh. Both disclosures are described as restated financial statements and identify June 30, 2025, so the supplied material does not point to a different reporting date as the reason for either variance.
Inventory and cash are current assets under Papadamali’s accounting policies. The policies say the company uses a 12-month operating cycle to classify assets and liabilities as current or non-current. Without an explanation of the two sets of numbers, the document does not allow readers to derive one internally consistent June 2025 working-capital position.
Which June 2025 inventory figure has a category breakdown?
The Rs 8.20 crore amount in Note 13 is the only June 2025 inventory figure supported by a category breakdown, but it does not reconcile to the Rs 20.45 crore figure in Annexure 1. Note 13 lists raw material of Rs 7.41 crore, packing material of Rs 59.40 lakh and finished goods of Rs 19.70 lakh. Those components total the disclosed Rs 8.20 crore.
Papadamali’s inventory policy says inventories are valued at the lower of cost and net realisable value, meaning estimated selling price less estimated completion and selling costs. It says raw and packaging materials use first-in, first-out, or FIFO, costing, while manufactured finished goods include direct material, direct labour and allocated variable and fixed overheads. The note does not identify an additional Rs 12.24 crore of inventory outside its three listed categories.
The historical disclosures also do not produce a single comparable inventory series. Annexure 1 reports Rs 18.15 crore at March 31, 2025, Rs 14.69 crore at March 31, 2024 and Rs 8.79 crore at March 31, 2023. Note 13 gives Rs 11.34 crore for March 31, 2024 and Rs 15.82 crore for March 31, 2023, while omitting March 31, 2025. The difference is therefore not confined to the June 2025 presentation.
Does the cash-flow statement support either cash balance?
The June 2025 cash-flow statement supports the Rs 2.36 lakh balance-sheet figure rather than the Rs 0.56 lakh amount in Note 15. The cash-flow statement reports opening cash and cash equivalents of Rs 76,000, a net increase of Rs 1.62 lakh and closing cash and cash equivalents of Rs 2.36 lakh for the period ended June 30, 2025. That stated movement reaches the balance-sheet closing figure.
Note 15 separately reports Rs 29,000 of cash in hand and Rs 27,000 of bank balances, for a total of Rs 0.56 lakh at June 30, 2025. Papadamali’s accounting policy defines cash and cash equivalents as cash in hand, demand deposits with banks and highly liquid short-term investments with original maturities of three months or less. Note 15 does not disclose another cash category that bridges Rs 0.56 lakh to Rs 2.36 lakh.
The cash-flow statement reports Rs 59.73 lakh of net cash from operating activities, an investing outflow of Rs 36 lakh and financing cash inflow of Rs 22.20 crore in the three months ended June 30, 2025. It also lists long-term borrowing proceeds of Rs 39.28 crore and repayments of Rs 9.06 crore. These printed line items provide the reported cash-flow context, but the supplied pages do not explain the differing note balance.
How large is the discrepancy within Papadamali’s current assets?
The inventory discrepancy changes the scale of current assets presented in Annexure 1. The June 30, 2025 balance sheet reports Rs 22.84 crore of current assets, including Rs 20.45 crore of inventories, Rs 2 crore of trade receivables, Rs 2.36 lakh of cash, Rs 21.51 lakh of short-term loans and advances, and Rs 15.28 lakh of other current assets. Inventory accounts for about 90% of that stated current-asset total.
Substituting Note 13’s Rs 8.20 crore inventory total for the balance-sheet amount, while leaving all other Annexure 1 lines unchanged, would reduce current assets by Rs 12.24 crore. This is a mechanical comparison rather than a proposed restatement because Papadamali does not say which disclosure should govern. The supplied pages do not establish whether the variance results from classification, transcription, omitted categories or another cause.
Current liabilities in Annexure 1 include short-term borrowings of Rs 7.04 crore and trade payables of Rs 4.62 crore at June 30, 2025. Cash is small under both reported cash numbers, but the Rs 1.80 lakh discrepancy remains a conflict between the detailed note and the balance sheet supported by the cash-flow statement. Accurate classification and reconciliation of current assets matter when those liabilities are presented on the same date.
What does the auditor’s report say about the June disclosures?
The auditor’s report says Papadamali’s restated financial statements were prepared for its proposed initial public offer, or IPO, and were approved by the board on October 10, 2025. GGPS & Associates dated its examination report October 30, 2025 and said the statements were prepared under the Companies Act, 2013, Securities and Exchange Board of India Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements Regulations, 2018, and Institute of Chartered Accountants of India guidance.
The report distinguishes the June 2025 period from the annual periods. It says the March 31, 2023, March 31, 2024 and March 31, 2025 financial statements were audited, whereas the period ended June 30, 2025 used management-certified financial statements. The report also says the restated statements incorporated retrospective adjustments for accounting-policy changes, material errors and regroupings or reclassifications.
GGPS & Associates states that there were no qualifications in auditor reports for the three March year-ends requiring adjustments to the restated financial statements. It also says its report does not reflect events occurring after the relevant reporting dates and that it has no responsibility to update the report for later events. Neither statement provides a reconciliation of the June 2025 inventory or cash differences between Annexure 1 and Notes 13 and 15.
Conclusion
Papadamali’s June 2025 disclosures contain two incompatible presentations of working-capital balances. The balance-sheet inventory exceeds the detailed inventory note by Rs 12.24 crore, while the balance-sheet cash amount agrees with the stated cash-flow closing balance but exceeds the cash note by Rs 1.80 lakh. The disclosed inventory policy and cash-equivalent definition do not explain the differences.
The next item to watch is any revised offer document, corrigendum or company clarification reconciling Annexure 1 with Notes 13 and 15 at June 30, 2025. The auditor’s report identifies the June period as management-certified and does not disclose such a reconciliation. Until a later document identifies the applicable figures and their basis, the supplied pages do not support one consistent reading of inventory and cash.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
