The Company paid Rs 4 lakh for SEBI client-fund breaches
Ask Iris
The Company paid a Rs 4 lakh penalty after the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) found breaches in its client-fund upstreaming and downstreaming processes. SEBI’s February 11, 2026 adjudication order followed an inspection finding that client funds had been retained rather than upstreamed to clearing corporations on 18 of 30 sampled dates.
What did SEBI find in The Company’s client-fund upstreaming and downstreaming?
SEBI found that The Company had not upstreamed client funds on an end-of-day, or EOD, basis and had not followed the required fund-flow framework. The findings followed inspections of The Company’s books of account, records and other documents by SEBI and stock exchanges on December 5-6, 2024, and January 2-3, 2025.
SEBI’s January 23, 2025 letter recorded three observations. Client funds were retained instead of being upstreamed to clearing corporations on 18 of 30 sampled dates; funds moved from the settlement account to the upstreaming client nodal bank account, or USCNBA; and transfers from the settlement account to the downstreaming client nodal bank account, or DSCNBA, did not comply with SEBI circulars.
The October 31, 2025 show-cause notice added that The Company had not met the cut-off time for upstreaming client funds to the settlement account. SEBI’s allegation therefore covered three elements of the framework: EOD upstreaming, the route used for transfers from the settlement account, and the timing of upstreaming. The disclosure does not quantify the client funds involved on any of the 30 sampled dates.
How extensive was the retained-client-fund observation?
The retained-fund observation applied to 18 of the 30 dates reviewed, or 60% of the inspection sample. That percentage measures only the dates selected for SEBI’s review in December 2024 and January 2025, rather than establishing a rate for all of The Company’s trading or settlement activity.
The comparison within the sample is limited but clear: 18 dates had the retention observation, while 12 dates did not have that specific observation recorded in the letter. The source does not state that the other 12 dates complied with every requirement, because SEBI separately identified concerns about transfer routes and upstreaming cut-off times.
The review concerned movements among a settlement account, the USCNBA and the DSCNBA. Under The Company’s November 13, 2025 response, client receipts were credited to the USCNBA and client payments were made through the DSCNBA; SEBI’s findings show that the required assessment extended to the prescribed route and timing, not solely to the accounts ultimately used.
Which SEBI requirements did The Company breach?
SEBI’s February 11, 2026 order found The Company in violation of two circular provisions governing client-fund flows. These were Clause 3 read with Annexure A of SEBI Circular SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD-1/P/CIR/2023/84 dated June 8, 2023, and Clause 4 of SEBI Circular SEBI/HO/MIRSD/MIRSD-PoD-1/P/CIR/2023/187 dated December 12, 2023.
The June 8, 2023 circular and its Annexure A were cited in relation to the EOD upstreaming and fund-flow framework. The December 12, 2023 circular was also cited in the adjudication finding. The disclosure does not reproduce either circular’s full text, so it does not set out every operational obligation within the cited provisions.
The enforcement sequence moved from inspection to a financial penalty over about 14 months. The Company submitted a detailed response to the January 23, 2025 observations on February 7, 2025, received the show-cause notice on October 31, 2025, and was found in violation through the February 11, 2026 adjudication order.
How did The Company answer SEBI’s allegations?
The Company said in its November 13, 2025 clarification that the issue involved interpretation and procedural variation in adopting the revised fund-flow framework. The Company also affirmed that no misuse or mismanagement of client funds had occurred, according to the prospectus disclosure of its response to SEBI’s October 31, 2025 show-cause notice.
The Company further said that all client receipts were credited to the USCNBA and all client payments were made through the DSCNBA. That position addressed the accounts used for receipts and payments, while SEBI’s findings also concerned EOD upstreaming, transfers from the settlement account and compliance with the applicable cut-off time.
SEBI’s February 11, 2026 order nonetheless recorded violations of the June 8, 2023 and December 12, 2023 circular provisions. The Company disclosed that it has duly paid the Rs 4 lakh penalty. The source does not report an appeal, a further order or the monetary value of the client funds reviewed by SEBI.
What does the disclosed record say about the penalty’s scope?
The Rs 4 lakh penalty was an adjudication outcome tied to the client-fund flow observations, not a stated measure of client losses. The source reports SEBI’s findings on 18 of 30 sampled dates and The Company’s assertion of no misuse or mismanagement, but it does not disclose any quantified loss to clients.
The client-fund matter was disclosed as an inspection finding that could bear on an investment decision, despite the Rs 4 lakh amount being below The Company’s Rs 90.96 lakh materiality threshold for quantifiable litigation claims. That threshold, adopted under the Board’s materiality policy dated September 5, 2025, applied to pending litigation claims and did not prevent disclosure of regulatory findings considered material.
The broader disclosure states that, except for the matters listed, there were no other material findings or observations from SEBI or another regulator involving The Company that required disclosure as of the prospectus date. This frames the February 11, 2026 order as a specifically identified regulatory matter, rather than evidence in the source of a quantified wider client-fund liability.
Conclusion
SEBI found that The Company breached the prescribed client-fund flow framework and imposed a Rs 4 lakh penalty that The Company says it has paid. The finding arose from retained funds on 18 of 30 sampled dates, together with observations on settlement-account transfers and the EOD upstreaming cut-off time, despite The Company’s statement that no misuse or mismanagement occurred.
The next point to watch is whether The Company makes any later disclosure on changes to its client-fund procedures or any additional SEBI communication. The supplied record confirms payment of the February 11, 2026 penalty but does not disclose an appeal, a remediation plan, or a further enforcement order.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
