KPI Green Energy wins ₹2,025cr EPC, buys DMGEL stake
Ask Iris
Key developments reported to exchanges
KPI Green Energy Limited, the renewable vertical of KP Group, disclosed multiple business updates, including a large EPC work order and an acquisition through its material subsidiary. The company also reported commissioning of solar capacity for Coal India Limited at Khavda, Gujarat. Separately, it stated that Sun Drops Energia Limited acquired a majority stake in DMGEL, making DMGEL a step-down subsidiary. The updates place focus on KPI Green Energy’s execution pipeline, order inflows, and corporate structure changes. The disclosures were positioned as exchange updates and announcements. The company is a Gujarat-based renewable power generating company incorporated in 2008.
Commissioning at Khavda for Coal India
KPI Green Energy said it successfully commissioned 200 MW (AC) and 269 MW (DC) of solar power capacity for Coal India Limited. The commissioning was stated to be at Khavda, Gujarat. The company added that the commissioning was certified by GEDA. The update highlights delivered capacity, with both AC and DC figures specified. The disclosure did not include timelines beyond the commissioning statement. It also did not provide revenue or margin information tied to this commissioning. Still, the certification reference indicates the commissioning has been formally acknowledged in the stated framework.
₹2,025 crore solar EPC work order for 500 MW
KPI Green Energy reported receipt of a work order worth approximately ₹2,025 crore for a solar EPC project. The work order size was disclosed as 500 MW / 550 MWp. The customer was named as NACOF Oorja Private Limited. The exchange intimation headline referenced the receipt of a work order of approximately ₹2,025 crore. The announcement time was listed as 29 Sep, 2026, 03:26 PM IST. The company also referenced this as an EPC order for a 500 MW solar plant.
What the project sizing indicates
In the disclosure, the project was described using both MW and MWp. The project capacity was stated as 500 MW and 550 MWp, indicating the DC side is higher than the AC side as per the provided figures. The company did not provide project location, execution timelines, or commissioning schedule in the shared text. It also did not disclose payment terms, milestones, or scope splits within EPC. The information shared was focused on order value, customer name, and capacity. Investors typically track these details to understand pipeline conversion to revenue, but the update itself stayed limited to the order receipt.
Acquisition update via material subsidiary Sun Drops Energia
KPI Green Energy also provided an update on acquisition by its material subsidiary company, Sun Drops Energia Limited. As per the provided text, Sun Drops Energia acquired 62.91% of DMGEL on September 26, 2026. Following this transaction, DMGEL became a step-down subsidiary of KPI Green Energy. The disclosure did not specify the consideration, valuation, or the business profile of DMGEL. It also did not detail whether the stake purchase was primary, secondary, or a combination. The key corporate outcome was the change in subsidiary status through majority ownership by Sun Drops Energia.
Subsidiary incorporation: KPGC Two Private Limited
The disclosures also referenced a corporate action involving a new subsidiary. KPI Green Energy incorporated KPGC Two Private Limited on September 26, 2026. It was stated to be a wholly owned subsidiary. The text did not provide the objective, planned activities, or capital structure of KPGC Two. The timing places both the incorporation and the DMGEL stake acquisition on the same date. Together, these items suggest active structuring within the group, but the disclosure excerpt does not provide further detail.
Snapshot table of disclosed facts
Market impact: what the numbers signal
The largest financial figure in the update was the ₹2,025 crore EPC work order for a 500 MW / 550 MWp solar project. Such disclosures are typically monitored for potential revenue visibility, although the excerpt did not provide timelines for execution or revenue recognition. The commissioning update for Coal India at 200 MW (AC) / 269 MW (DC) is an execution milestone and may be read as evidence of delivery progress, but no commercial metrics were provided. On corporate actions, the acquisition of 62.91% of DMGEL by Sun Drops Energia changes the group structure by adding a step-down subsidiary. The market cap stated in the text was ₹7,300 crore, providing context for the scale of the order value relative to the company’s market size, without implying any price movement.
Why the DMGEL stake matters in group structure
Majority ownership of DMGEL at 62.91% means Sun Drops Energia, and therefore KPI Green Energy at the group level, controls DMGEL as a step-down subsidiary. This can affect consolidation, reporting structure, and operational integration, though the excerpt does not specify DMGEL’s business line or expected synergies. The disclosure also used the term “material subsidiary” for Sun Drops Energia, signalling that the entity is significant within the group’s structure. The formation of KPGC Two as a wholly owned subsidiary on the same date indicates continued corporate build-out. Without additional details, the immediate confirmed takeaway is the ownership change and resulting subsidiary classification.
Other referenced business updates
The provided text also mentioned that KPI Green Energy informed about receipt of a letter of intent (LoI) for development of a Wind-Solar Hybrid Power Project on 1 Sep, with multiple time-stamped references. However, the excerpt did not provide project capacity, counterparty, or financial value for the LoI. As a result, the disclosure can only be treated as a referenced update rather than a fully quantified announcement. The more detailed items in the text remained the solar EPC work order, commissioning milestone, and corporate actions.
Conclusion
KPI Green Energy’s latest set of updates combined execution progress at Khavda, a ₹2,025 crore solar EPC work order for 500 MW / 550 MWp from NACOF Oorja Private Limited, and a corporate acquisition through Sun Drops Energia. The company also reported the incorporation of KPGC Two Private Limited as a wholly owned subsidiary. The next information investors will watch for is further detail on project timelines, scope, and any additional disclosures around DMGEL’s operations following its conversion into a step-down subsidiary.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
