Lumino disclosed 20 EPC-site accidents, including 19 deaths
Ask Iris
Lumino disclosed 20 accidents at engineering, procurement and construction, or EPC, project sites between August 2023 and February 4, 2026. Nineteen individuals died and one was reported to be undergoing treatment, while the listed compensation totalled Rs 2.378 crore, including eight amounts that Lumino identified as estimates.
What did Lumino disclose about EPC-site accidents?
Lumino disclosed 20 EPC-site accidents over the three fiscals covered in its prospectus, of which 19 were fatal. The sole non-fatal case was a January 2024 fire caused by a short circuit at the RDSS Kanpur project in Farrukhabad district; Lumino said the injured person was undergoing treatment when the prospectus was issued.
The listed cases began with a fatal head injury at RDSS Kanpur in August 2023 and ended with a fatal electrocution incident at RDSS Deoghar on February 4, 2026. Lumino separately stated that it had recorded no accidents from the handling of hazardous materials at its manufacturing facilities, distinguishing the disclosed record at EPC work sites from its manufacturing operations.
Lumino listed Rs 2.378 crore as total compensation for the 20 cases. Eight entries of Rs 10 lakh each were marked as approximate because compensation had not been determined as of the prospectus date; Lumino said the estimates were based on past trends. The total therefore includes both compensation paid and anticipated compensation rather than only settled amounts.
Where and how did Lumino's EPC-site accidents occur?
Lumino's EPC-site accident record was concentrated in projects identified as RDSS, with RDSS Kanpur accounting for 9 of the 20 listed incidents when Farrukhabad, Kanpur Nagar and Kannauj locations are included. RDSS Prayagraj, including Fatehpur and Sultanpur Ghos locations, accounted for 3 incidents between September 2023 and April 2024.
Electrocution from a sudden back current was cited in 7 fatal cases from March 2024 to February 2026, making it the most frequently stated cause. Falls from poles or a ladder caused 5 fatal cases, while 3 accidents involved broken or falling poles; the remaining 5 cases comprised two head-injury incidents, one short-circuit fire and two fatal road accidents on December 7, 2025.
The listed causes arose in activities involving work at height, electrical systems and pole installation. A heavy pole fell on a worker at HVDS Jalpaiguri on February 26, 2024, a broken pole caused a fatal back injury at RDSS Prayagraj on September 15, 2023, and a worker died after falling from a ladder at RDSS Baramulla in June 2024. These incidents identify electrical exposure, elevated work and equipment handling as separate sources of field risk.
How did Lumino's EPC-site accident record change across the three fiscals?
Lumino's disclosed accident count fell from 10 cases in Fiscal 2024 to 6 in Fiscal 2025 and 4 in Fiscal 2026, based on the accident dates listed in the prospectus. Fatalities changed from 9 in Fiscal 2024 to 6 in Fiscal 2025 and 4 in Fiscal 2026; the January 2024 short-circuit fire was the only non-fatal listed case.
Fiscal 2024 included incidents from August 2023 through March 2024 and represented half of the 20 disclosed accidents. Fiscal 2026 consisted of four events between October 2025 and February 2026, including two road-accident deaths at RDSS Kanpur and one electrocution death at RDSS Deoghar. Lumino did not disclose worker-hours, site headcount, active-project count or a lost-time injury rate, so the case count cannot establish an accident rate or isolate the effect of changing EPC activity levels.
The compensation total also changed by period, from Rs 1.288 crore in Fiscal 2024 to Rs 69 lakh in Fiscal 2025 and Rs 40 lakh in Fiscal 2026. Fiscal 2026's entire Rs 40 lakh amount comprised four estimated Rs 10 lakh entries, so the eventual compensation liability can change when those amounts are determined.
What operational and financial exposure can EPC accidents create for Lumino?
Lumino states that hazardous operations can result in injury, loss of life, property damage, environmental damage, claims and litigation. Its EPC contracts have execution cycles of 24 to 30 months, meaning field safety events can occur during projects exposed over extended periods to labour, equipment, approvals, material availability and delivery constraints.
Lumino said its insurance may not completely cover risks and liabilities, and it cannot assure that insurance claims will be honoured fully, partly or on time. The Rs 2.378 crore compensation total is therefore only one quantified element of the disclosed exposure; Lumino also identified potential losses from claims, lawsuits, equipment damage and disruption without assigning those items a monetary amount.
The prospectus also links accidents with execution risk in contracts that require delivery and installation. Lumino reported that one physically closed Fiscal 2025 project had estimated costs of Rs 21.602 crore and cost overruns of Rs 23.617 crore, while disclosed completion delays across the three fiscals ranged from 6 to 8 months. The company said accidents are among the factors that can increase the time and cost needed to complete EPC projects.
What safety controls has Lumino said it uses at work sites?
Lumino says it uses personal protective equipment, electrical-safety equipment, compliance officers, worker training, emergency kits, mock drills and routine electrical and fire-compliance inspections at work sites. The company described these measures after stating that it complies with requisite safety requirements and standards, but the 20 listed events show that the stated controls did not eliminate hazards over the period from August 2023 to February 2026.
For hazardous materials, Lumino said it has a standard operating procedure for employees and contractors handling, storing or disposing of such materials. The company specifically identified fuel oil used to charge furnaces and liquefied petroleum gas used in welding, and said it maintains first-aid kits, fire-control systems and ventilation systems at manufacturing facilities.
Lumino also said it conducts regular audits and safety drills, uses spill-control measures and follows waste-disposal protocols. However, the prospectus does not disclose accident-investigation findings, corrective-action completion dates, site-level audit outcomes or a numerical incident-reduction target. The stated programme can reduce future risk only if its controls are applied effectively to the electrical, work-at-height and pole-handling exposures shown in the accident list.
Conclusion
Lumino's disclosure identifies a material on-ground operational risk in its EPC activities: 20 listed site accidents resulted in 19 deaths between August 2023 and February 2026. Electrocutions, falls and pole-related incidents accounted for 15 of the 20 events, connecting the safety record directly to the electrical and field-installation work required in EPC execution.
The next disclosed matters to watch are the final determination of compensation in the eight estimated Rs 10 lakh cases and any subsequent reporting on claims, insurance recoveries or safety metrics. Lumino's stated plan includes protective equipment, training, inspections, compliance officers and mock drills, but the prospectus gives no outcome measure or accident-reduction target following the February 2026 incident.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
