Natco Pharma rights issue gets BSE-NSE nod (2026)
Ask Iris
What the exchange approvals mean
Natco Pharma has received in-principle approval from BSE and NSE for its proposed rights issue of fully paid-up equity shares. The company said the approvals were received on September 21, 2026, and described them as a procedural milestone for the capital raise. Natco Pharma confirmed the development through a filing submitted to the respective listing departments of the exchanges. Such in-principle approvals typically allow a company to proceed with the next steps tied to listing of the securities proposed under the issue. In this case, the approvals relate to the listing of the Rights Equity Shares on both exchanges where Natco Pharma’s existing equity shares are already listed. The company’s intimation was sent to the Corporate Relationship Department of BSE Ltd and the Manager – Listing at NSE Ltd. The disclosure was signed by Ch. Venkat Ramesh, Company Secretary and Compliance Officer, on September 21, 2026.
What Natco Pharma disclosed to BSE and NSE
Natco Pharma said it has received the in-principle approval letters from both stock exchanges for the proposed rights issue. The company also stated that copies of the approval letters are available on its investor relations website. According to the disclosure, stakeholders can access these documents through a dedicated rights issue section hosted by Natco Pharma. The update does not provide the issue price, rights entitlement ratio, or a record date for eligibility. Those details, as indicated in the company’s earlier board approval communication, are to be determined and notified later. The exchange approvals, as disclosed, are one part of the broader set of regulatory and statutory clearances needed for the rights issue process.
Board approval: ₹1,300 crore rights issue cleared on Sept 9
Natco Pharma’s board approved a rights issue of equity shares to existing shareholders at its meeting held on September 9, 2026. The company said the total amount proposed to be raised through the rights issue will not exceed ₹1,300 crore (₹13,000 million). The board also approved the Draft Letter of Offer for the rights issue. The securities proposed under the fund-raising exercise are equity shares with a face value of ₹2 each. Natco Pharma stated that the rights issue will be offered to equity shareholders whose names appear on the company’s records as of a record date to be determined and notified subsequently. The company also indicated that the final number of Rights Equity Shares to be issued will be decided after finalisation of the issue price and the rights entitlement ratio.
Rights issue basics: who can apply and what is issued
A rights issue is an issuance of shares to existing shareholders, usually in proportion to their current holdings, based on a record date. Natco Pharma has specified that eligibility will be limited to existing equity shareholders as of a record date that it will announce later. The rights issue will consist of fully paid-up equity shares with a face value of ₹2 each. The company has not disclosed the issue price, the exact number of shares to be issued, or the entitlement ratio in the information provided so far. It also did not disclose the rights issue opening date and closing date in final terms, and some fields in circulating summaries appear as placeholders. As a result, investors will need to watch for subsequent announcements for the final timetable and commercial terms.
Regulatory framework cited by the company
Natco Pharma said the rights issue will be carried out in accordance with applicable provisions, including the Companies Act, 2013, and the SEBI (Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2018, as amended. The company also stated the proposed fundraise remains subject to applicable regulatory and statutory approvals. The Draft Letter of Offer has been prepared in line with the Companies Act, SEBI ICDR Regulations, and other applicable laws. The in-principle approvals from BSE and NSE fit into this process by enabling listing-related clearances for the proposed Rights Equity Shares. However, these approvals do not, by themselves, set the issue price or entitlement ratio, nor do they replace any additional approvals that may be required.
What is still pending: price, ratio, record date, and final share count
Key operating details of the issue remain open. Natco Pharma has stated that the record date will be determined and notified later. The company has also said the final number of Rights Equity Shares will be determined after the issue price and the rights entitlement ratio are finalised. Until those are announced, shareholders cannot compute the cash outflow required to subscribe or the precise dilution if they choose not to participate. The company’s disclosures so far focus on approvals and process milestones rather than commercial terms. This is typical at the stage where the board has approved the route and the draft offer document, but final terms are pending.
Parallel fundraising track: separate ₹2,000 crore QIP limit mentioned
Separate coverage included in the provided material notes that Natco Pharma has a broader capital-raising framework that also includes a Qualified Institutional Placement (QIP) limit of ₹2,000 crore authorised in mid-August. The rights issue of up to ₹1,300 crore is described as a fresh funding track running parallel to that separate QIP authorisation. In the same material, the rights issue route is described as replacing an earlier broader mandate to raise funds through equity or other securities, by choosing a specific structure. Importantly, the company’s exchange filings referenced here focus on the rights issue approvals and board decision, and do not lay out how the company will sequence or prioritise multiple fundraising routes.
Other corporate context referenced in the material
One item in the provided text also mentions that an NCLT filing linked to a crop demerger was deferred, with a plan to revise the scheme post-rights issue to keep the swap ratio. This indicates that some corporate actions may be sequenced alongside the fundraising timeline. However, the rights issue disclosures cited here do not provide further operational detail on that demerger step or dates. Investors should therefore treat that point as a separately developing corporate process, and rely on subsequent company disclosures for confirmed timelines and documentation.
Timeline of disclosed events
Key facts table: Natco Pharma rights issue (disclosed so far)
Market impact: why this step matters for investors
The in-principle approvals matter because they indicate progress in the listing and compliance process for the proposed Rights Equity Shares. For existing shareholders, the rights issue structure, as disclosed, is designed to be offered to those on record as of a future record date, which can allow participation in the capital raise. The size of the proposed issue, up to ₹1,300 crore, is the main quantified marker investors have at this stage. But because the issue price and entitlement ratio have not been disclosed, the effect on share count and per-share participation cost cannot yet be calculated from the available information. The company has also made the approval letters available online, which can help stakeholders verify the procedural status directly.
Conclusion
Natco Pharma’s receipt of in-principle approvals from BSE and NSE on September 21, 2026, is a clear procedural step toward its proposed rights issue. The board-approved plan, announced from the September 9, 2026 meeting, targets fundraising of up to ₹1,300 crore through equity shares of ₹2 face value. The next key disclosures to track are the record date, issue price, entitlement ratio, and the final number of shares to be issued. The company has indicated these will be determined and notified in subsequent communications as the process moves forward.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
