Oswal Pumps redirects IPO funds; bags ₹298 cr order
Ask Iris
Oswal Pumps board clears 1.2 GW solar cell plant
Oswal Pumps Limited has approved a greenfield solar cell manufacturing facility with a planned capacity of 1.2 GW at Karnal, Haryana. The project will be executed through its wholly owned subsidiary, Oswal Solar Energy Private Limited. The company has put the estimated total project cost at ₹455.85 crore. The approval signals a clear shift toward deeper manufacturing integration in the solar value chain. It also comes at a time when module makers are facing procurement constraints for Domestic Content Requirement (DCR) compliant cells. The plant is intended primarily for captive use rather than merchant sales, as outlined in the company’s stated objective. The company has not disclosed a technology roadmap for the cell line in the provided details.
IPO proceeds utilisation changes: where ₹159.85 crore is now going
To fund the cell plant, the board approved a variation in the utilisation of its Initial Public Offering (IPO) proceeds. The company said ₹159.85 crore from the unutilised portion of the IPO funds will be redirected to the new facility. This amount is being moved from earlier plans that included investments in aluminium frames and additional EVA encapsulant capacity. In effect, the cell plant has been elevated as the priority allocation within the remaining proceeds. The decision highlights management’s preference to address upstream supply risks instead of expanding certain module-adjacent capacities. Oswal Pumps has not, in the provided text, stated the revised capital allocation for the aluminium frame and EVA plans after the reallocation. The company’s disclosure frames the move as a risk-management and value-add step rather than a short-term expansion bet.
Why DCR supply risk is driving backward integration
Oswal Pumps cited the Domestic Content Requirement (DCR) as the primary trigger for the strategic shift. According to the company, standalone module manufacturers face challenges sourcing DCR-compliant cells due to elevated prices and high deposit demands from domestic cell makers. In this context, manufacturing cells in-house is positioned as a way to secure supply continuity. The company also linked backward integration to reducing exposure to spot-price volatility in cells. Another stated objective is to deepen value addition within the group, which can matter in DCR-driven tenders where domestic sourcing conditions are strict. The company’s rationale is framed around reliability of supply and procurement terms rather than cost leadership alone. The move also suggests Oswal Pumps is trying to reduce dependency on external cell suppliers for a material portion of its module production.
Captive consumption plan: 75% of cell demand targeted
The proposed 1.2 GW cell plant is intended for captive consumption and is expected to meet about 75% of Oswal Pumps’ overall solar cell requirement. The remaining demand will continue to be sourced externally in the near term, as per the company’s disclosure. This split indicates the plant is being sized to cover a majority, but not all, of the company’s needs. It also leaves room for continued procurement flexibility, including for product mix requirements or interim ramp-up periods. Oswal Pumps has not provided commissioning timelines, phase-wise expansion plans, or the expected ramp-up schedule in the available information. The company also did not disclose whether the facility would target specific cell formats or efficiency benchmarks. Still, the 75% captive target is a clear operational goal that ties the capex to a quantified procurement outcome.
Original plan vs new priority: what changed
The company has explicitly contrasted the new cell plant priority against the earlier investment plan. While the earlier plan included aluminium frames and excess EVA encapsulant capacity, the updated approach channels a portion of unutilised IPO funds toward cell manufacturing. The company has presented the cell plant as “approved as priority,” while it was “not proposed” earlier.
Telangana rooftop solar order: LoI for 9,937 government schools
Separately, Oswal Pumps disclosed it has received a Letter of Intent (LoI) from the Telangana Renewable Energy Development Corporation. The company referred to the counterparty as TREDCL in the exchange filing and TGREDCO in the accompanying release. The filing date cited was September 23, 2026. The project scope covers the design, supply, installation, and commissioning of on-grid solar rooftop photovoltaic power plants across 9,937 government schools in 33 districts of Telangana. The systems include 2 kW, 5 kW, and 10 kW configurations. The aggregate sanctioned capacity is 46,705 kW (46.7 MW). The scope also includes normal structures and remote monitoring systems (RMS), along with comprehensive maintenance for five years.
Order value: ₹273.19 crore excluding GST, ₹297.50 crore including GST
Different disclosures and reports referenced the order value in both including and excluding GST terms. The exchange filing placed the total order value at approximately ₹298 crore including GST. Another cited figure was ₹297.50 crore including GST. A separate figure stated the value as ₹273.19 crore excluding GST. In all cases, the values refer to the same broad rooftop programme across 9,937 schools and an aggregate 46.7 MW capacity. The installation timeline is specified as completion within 180 days from receiving the work order. Oswal Pumps also said the order would expand its presence in Telangana. The company described it as its first major order from Telangana, as stated by Vivek Gupta, chairman and managing director.
Stock reaction: shares rose up to 7% intraday
Oswal Pumps shares rose sharply on the day the order announcement was reported. One report said the stock surged up to 7% in intraday trade on September 23 after the company announced the Telangana order win. Another market update cited a rise of 6.89% to ₹292.45. A separate report described the rally as “more than 8%” on the same date following the LoI disclosure. The common trigger across reports was the Telangana rooftop solar LoI and its size relative to the company’s ongoing solar business. The order also signalled entry into a new state market, which the company highlighted as a strategic expansion point. No additional company guidance on margin impact or execution milestones was provided in the supplied material.
Key facts snapshot
Why this matters for Oswal Pumps and the solar supply chain
Taken together, the two announcements show Oswal Pumps pushing on both integration and order execution. The cell plant plan addresses a structural issue the company highlighted: procuring DCR-compliant cells at workable prices and terms. If executed as planned, the plant would reduce reliance on external cell supply for a large share of requirements, while still keeping some procurement flexibility. The Telangana order adds near-term visibility through a defined installation timeline and a five-year maintenance scope. It also broadens the company’s footprint in public-sector rooftop solar deployments. However, the available disclosures leave key questions unanswered, including the technology roadmap for the new 1.2 GW cell line and how quickly the plant can be brought online.
Conclusion
Oswal Pumps has approved a ₹455.85 crore greenfield 1.2 GW solar cell plant and redirected ₹159.85 crore of unutilised IPO proceeds to prioritise the facility amid DCR-linked supply constraints. In parallel, it disclosed a Telangana LoI for a 46.7 MW rooftop rollout across 9,937 schools, valued between ₹273.19 crore (ex-GST) and ₹297.50 crore (incl-GST), which coincided with a sharp stock move on September 23, 2026. The next material updates for investors will likely be the work order receipt, execution milestones for the Telangana programme, and further disclosure on the cell plant’s technology plan and implementation timeline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker
