Times Green Energy plans ₹100 crore raise, renewables 2026
Board clears capital raise up to ₹100 crore
Times Green Energy (India) Limited said its board has approved a fund raise of up to ₹100 crore. The decision was taken at a board meeting held on August 18, 2026. The company said the fund raise can be done through the issuance of equity shares and or other eligible securities. The issuance can be executed in one or more tranches. Any issuance will be subject to shareholder approval at the ensuing Annual General Meeting (AGM). The company is based in Hyderabad.
How the fund raise may be structured
The board permitted multiple routes for the proposed issuance. These include a further public issue, rights issue, private placement, qualified institutional placement (QIP), or depository receipts such as ADRs or GDRs. The company did not disclose the final route in the information provided. It also did not specify the timeline beyond the requirement of shareholder approval. The approval indicates the company is keeping flexibility on the structure depending on investor appetite and regulatory requirements.
MOA amended to enter wind, solar and hybrid projects
A central outcome of the August 18 meeting was the alteration of the object clause in the Memorandum of Association (MOA). This change enables Times Green Energy to undertake, develop, and manage renewable energy projects. The company specifically listed wind, solar, and hybrid renewable energy projects as part of the amended objects. The MOA change is a formal step that allows the company to expand into a new line of business. It also signals a strategic pivot from its earlier operations.
What the company currently does
Times Green Energy (India) Ltd has been described as manufacturing organic fertilisers and women’s hygiene products. Its focus areas were noted as agricultural and hygiene sectors, with operations around Hyderabad. The MOA change expands the company’s potential business scope into renewable power development and management. Investors typically track such changes because they can affect capital requirements, project execution capability, and risk profile. However, no project pipeline, capacity targets, or capital expenditure guidance was provided in the disclosed details.
Director appointments approved, subject to shareholder vote
The board approved new leadership appointments, subject to shareholder approval. Ms. Sheeza Abbas (DIN: 11888437) was appointed as an Additional Director in the capacity of Non-Executive Independent Director, with a stated term of five years effective August 18, 2026. Mr. Ramakrishna Avadhanam (DIN: 11888440) was appointed as an Additional Executive Director and designated as a Whole Time Director for a five-year term starting August 18, 2026. The company noted that these appointments bring experience from multiple sectors including real estate, wealth management, media, and related functions.
Two directors set to cease office on August 25, 2026
Times Green Energy also reported that two directors will cease to hold office upon completion of their terms. The effective date given was August 25, 2026. The outgoing directors named were Mr. Bhambal Ram Meena, a Non-Executive Non-Independent Director, and Ms. Sripati Susheela, a Non-Executive Independent Director. The board decided not to re-appoint them, as per the disclosure.
Statutory auditor appointment and tenure details
The company appointed M/s TRAK and Associates as statutory auditor for a five-year term, based on the recommendation of the Audit Committee. The appointment is subject to shareholder approval at the ensuing AGM. The firm registration number was disclosed as 017290S. The effective period was described as beginning immediately after the conclusion of the company’s 16th AGM. One disclosure stated the tenure extends until the conclusion of the 21st AGM, scheduled to be held in calendar year 2031, while another table referenced “5 years (16th to 20th AGM)”. The company also stated that director relationships were “Not Applicable” for the auditor appointment.
Other meeting outcomes and governance actions
The board noted the draft Board Report and Management Discussion and Analysis for FY26. It also recorded the reconstitution of board committees. The meeting commenced at 8:30 pm and concluded at 10:00 pm at the company’s registered office in Hyderabad, according to the disclosure. The company had earlier indicated the trading window for its securities would be closed from August 13, 2026 to August 20, 2026.
Debt fund raise plan: NCDs and a rescheduled May board meeting
Separately, the company reported plans to approve audited financial results and consider raising funds through debt securities at a board meeting rescheduled to May 29, 2026. The meeting was originally set for May 28, 2026 and was postponed due to unavoidable circumstances. In addition, the company disclosed approval for issuance of secured, unlisted, redeemable non-convertible debentures (NCDs) aggregating up to ₹30 crore on a private placement basis.
Key figures and disclosures at a glance
Market and shareholder context from available data
The disclosures also referenced secondary market activity by Plutus Capital Management LLP. It reported acquisition of 1,54,000 equity shares, representing 2.76% of the total issued and subscribed shares, between March 24, 2026 and April 20, 2026. Following these purchases, Plutus Capital Management LLP’s total holding was disclosed as 3,04,000 equity shares, or 5.45%. Such holdings are often tracked by investors when assessing interest in small and mid-sized listed companies.
Why the announcement matters
The combination of a proposed ₹100 crore capital raise and a formal expansion of the object clause points to a material shift in the company’s stated direction. The fund raise structure options suggest the company is preparing for flexibility in how it brings in capital. The MOA amendment is an enabling step, but the disclosures did not include project details, approvals, or timelines. Board changes and an auditor appointment are also governance events that investors monitor, particularly when a company signals a strategic pivot.
What to watch next
The next confirmed step is shareholder consideration at the ensuing AGM for the capital raise, director appointments, and auditor appointment. Investors will also watch for the AGM notice and any further disclosures on the renewable energy plans. Any subsequent filings on fund raise pricing, instruments, or tranche size will provide clearer information on the company’s execution path.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
