Borosil Renewables targets rooftop solar with phased entry
Ask Iris
Borosil Renewables (BRL) plans to move downstream from solar glass into branded rooftop solar systems through a phased, asset-light model. Its proposed offer includes panels above 600W, 3–150 kW inverters, 12.8–51.2V batteries, installation and service, targeting projects from 1 kW residential rooftops to 2.5 MW PM Kusum Component A sites.
What is BRL’s new rooftop solar business?
BRL’s new business is an end-to-end distributed solar offer combining branded components with installation, commissioning and after-sales service. The company is expanding beyond its core role of supplying solar glass directly to module manufacturers, and intends to sell panels, inverters and batteries as part of a complete rooftop solution.
The disclosed product range includes solar panels above 600W, inverters rated from 3 kW to 150 kW, and batteries operating from 12.8V to 51.2V. BRL also lists installation, commissioning and after-sales support, placing field execution alongside the sale of components.
This differs from BRL’s established solar-glass business, which supplies module manufacturers with textured glass, anti-reflective and anti-soiling coatings, tempering, customised sizes, anti-glare finishes and other specialised products. That core business serves more than 100 domestic customers and addresses utility-scale, rooftop, floating solar, solar pump, greenhouse and building-integrated photovoltaics applications.
The presentation labels the new operation a growth adjacency and describes it as scalable and asset-light. It does not disclose revenue expectations, a capital-expenditure budget, pricing, margins or a launch date for the rooftop solar business.
Which rooftop solar customers will BRL target?
BRL will target residential rooftops of 1–10 kW, commercial and industrial, or C&I, rooftops of up to 1 MW, and PM Kusum Component A projects from 500 kW to 2.5 MW. The target range therefore covers household systems, larger business installations and the specified PM Kusum project category.
Residential projects form the smallest stated segment at 1–10 kW, while C&I rooftops can reach 1 MW, equal to 1,000 kW. PM Kusum Component A is the largest listed category, with projects beginning at 500 kW and extending to 2.5 MW.
BRL has grouped the component range into a solution designed for defined customer segments rather than presenting panels, inverters and batteries as stand-alone products. The company has not specified which panel wattages, inverter sizes or battery voltages will be assigned to each of the three target segments.
Where will BRL launch its rooftop solar offering?
BRL’s initial geographic focus is Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Maharashtra. The presentation identifies these five states but does not provide an order of entry, a state-level sales objective, installation capacity or timetable for a broader rollout.
The domestic launch focus differs from BRL’s existing solar-glass presence, which covers India and export markets. The company says most international customers are in Western Europe and Turkey, while it has expanded outreach to the Americas and the Middle East and North Africa, or MENA, region.
BRL reports current solar-glass capacity of 1,000 tonnes per day, equivalent to about 6.5 gigawatts, or GW, of module manufacturing. It also reports 600 tonnes per day of capacity under expansion through SG-4 and SG-5, which would take planned capacity to 1,600 tonnes per day, or about 10.5 GW of module manufacturing equivalent.
That capacity relates to BRL’s solar-glass operation rather than a disclosed manufacturing plan for rooftop panels, inverters or batteries. For the rooftop venture, the company instead sets out an asset-light route based on market entry phases and sales channels.
How will BRL enter the rooftop solar market?
BRL plans to enter through co-branding, then original equipment manufacturer, or OEM, partnerships, followed by completely knocked-down, or CKD, assembly. The company describes the progression as pilot-led, with market acceptance to be built before participation is progressively deepened.
Co-branding is the first stated stage, followed by OEM partnerships and CKD assembly. BRL has not identified an OEM partner, panel supplier, inverter supplier, battery supplier or CKD assembly location, and it has not disclosed when it expects to move between the phases.
BRL will use two sales routes: a distributor or system-integrator, or SI, network and direct customer engagement. It says the distributor and SI network is intended to provide wider market reach and network-led installations, while direct customer engagement is intended to support end-to-end execution and a stronger service relationship.
The two-channel structure pairs external installation reach with direct project delivery. BRL has not disclosed the number of distributors, SIs, installation teams or direct customers it expects to have during the pilot-led phase in the five initial states.
What does rooftop solar add to BRL’s core business?
Rooftop solar adds a customer-facing route to BRL’s established solar-glass platform without replacing the core manufacturing business described in the presentation. BRL supplies solar glass directly to module makers, while the new model would combine branded panels, inverters and batteries with installation and after-sales service.
The company describes its core platform as India’s largest solar-glass manufacturer, with 1,000 tonnes per day of current capacity and more than 100 domestic customers. It also says its planned 1,600-tonnes-per-day capacity would be equivalent to about 10.5 GW of module manufacturing, compared with about 6.5 GW at current capacity.
BRL presents the rooftop move as a way to use the Borosil brand across components and end-to-end solutions. Its presentation identifies India’s rooftop solar, C&I solar and solar pump markets as the long-term opportunity, but it does not provide a market-share target, expected installation volume, profitability target or forecast for the new business.
Conclusion
BRL’s rooftop solar plan would expand its role from supplying a solar-module component to offering complete distributed-solar systems. The proposal is defined by a product stack of panels above 600W, 3–150 kW inverters and 12.8–51.2V batteries, together with installation and service for customer segments ranging from 1 kW homes to 2.5 MW PM Kusum Component A projects.
What to watch next is execution of the disclosed co-branding, OEM and CKD sequence in Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Maharashtra. BRL has yet to disclose partner identities, the timing of CKD assembly, channel scale or financial targets, while SG-4 and SG-5 remain its separately disclosed 600-tonnes-per-day solar-glass expansion plan.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker