HFCL bags ₹2,329-crore OFC deal for 2027-29
HFCL Ltd
HFCL
Ask Iris
What HFCL announced
HFCL Ltd has signed a three-year agreement with a global multinational corporation to supply optical fibre cables (OFC) worth about $144 million, which the company said is equivalent to around ₹2,329 crore. The company disclosed the development through a stock exchange filing on Tuesday. The supply will be executed through HFCL’s overseas wholly owned subsidiary. HFCL did not disclose the name of the customer in the filing. The agreement adds another large export-linked supply commitment to the company’s OFC business.
Deal size and tenure in focus
The total value of the agreement over its tenure is estimated at approximately ₹2,329 crore. In dollar terms, HFCL pegged the value at about $144 million. The contract spans three calendar years from 2027 to 2029. HFCL also stated that the contract is to be executed up to December 2029. The structure indicates that supply obligations are planned across multiple years rather than as a single, near-term shipment.
What products will be supplied
HFCL said the agreement covers high-quality, high-fibre-count optical fibre cables. The cables will be manufactured according to the customer’s specifications. The filing describes the products as high-fibre-count OFC, which typically reflects demand for higher capacity fibre deployment in telecom and broadband networks. HFCL did not provide additional technical details beyond the product description and the customer-specific manufacturing requirement. The agreement, as described, is for supply rather than for turnkey deployment or network build-out.
Supply schedule through December 2029
HFCL stated that it will supply “multi-million fibre kilometres” of OFC in each calendar year from 2027 to 2029. The phrase indicates high annual volumes, but the company did not disclose exact quantities. The supply commitment runs across the three calendar years covered by the agreement. HFCL also clarified that the contract is to be executed up to December 2029. That timeline aligns the supply window and the execution period within the same end-date.
Execution via overseas wholly owned subsidiary
The company said the cables will be supplied through HFCL’s overseas wholly owned subsidiary. HFCL has used this structure for other export contracts disclosed in regulatory filings. The overseas subsidiary route can reflect customer contracting preferences, delivery and logistics arrangements, or jurisdictional requirements. HFCL did not provide the location of the subsidiary or the delivery geography tied to this agreement. The filing also did not describe payment terms, milestones, or shipment schedules beyond the annual supply window.
Customer details were not disclosed
HFCL described the counterparty as a “global multinational corporation” but did not name the customer. The filing also did not specify the end-use segment, such as telecom operators, data centres, or broadband infrastructure providers. Beyond stating that the OFC will be manufactured as per the customer’s specifications, HFCL did not provide further information on application or network type. As a result, the public information is limited to the value, duration, product category, and supply mechanism.
How this compares with other HFCL export order disclosures
HFCL has reported multiple export-facing OFC-related orders in separate regulatory updates. In one disclosure, HFCL said it secured export orders worth $14.81 million (around ₹522.73 crore) for optical fibre cables from international customers. In another filing, HFCL reported an export order worth $16.13 million (about ₹441.53 crore) to be executed by January 2027, through its overseas subsidiary. HFCL also disclosed an export order worth about $11.98 million (around ₹495.80 crore) for OFC-based data centre connectivity solutions, with execution timeline by December 2026.
The company has additionally disclosed a separate long-term supply agreement valued at approximately ₹10,159 crore (about $1.10 billion) with an undisclosed global multinational corporation. HFCL described that deal as the largest long-term OFC arrangement in its history, with minimum annual multi-million fibre-kilometre quantities starting from calendar year 2026 to 2028, and an automatic extension to calendar years 2029 and 2030. These disclosures collectively show a pattern of export order flow and multi-year supply commitments routed through the overseas wholly owned subsidiary structure.
Key facts table
Market impact: what is clear from the filing
From the filing, the most direct market-relevant takeaway is the addition of a multi-year export supply agreement with a disclosed value of ₹2,329 crore. The agreement provides visibility on supply commitments across 2027-2029, with execution running through December 2029. Because the customer name and detailed volume numbers are not disclosed, the immediate assessment for investors is centred on the contract value, duration, and the fact that it is tied to overseas supply via a wholly owned subsidiary. The “multi-million fibre kilometres” wording signals large-scale supply, but it is not quantifiable beyond that description.
Why the agreement matters for HFCL’s OFC business
The agreement reinforces HFCL’s role as a supplier of high-fibre-count OFC for global customers, based on the product description provided. It also continues HFCL’s reliance on export-linked contracting through its overseas wholly owned subsidiary, consistent with other disclosed export orders. The multi-year structure spanning calendar years 2027-2029 suggests the customer is planning phased procurement, rather than a one-off purchase. At the same time, the lack of customer identity and the absence of precise annual quantities mean the market must rely on the disclosed headline value and timeline for evaluation.
What investors can track next
HFCL indicated that supply will take place in each year from 2027 to 2029 and that execution runs through December 2029. Investors can track whether HFCL provides additional updates on periodic purchase orders, shipment milestones, or any changes to execution timelines in future filings. Any further clarity on volumes, product mix within high-fibre-count OFC, or customer segmentation would likely come only through subsequent disclosures. For now, the information set is limited to the contract’s value, period, and supply mechanism.
Conclusion
HFCL’s ₹2,329 crore OFC agreement with an undisclosed global multinational corporation is a three-year supply arrangement covering 2027-2029, to be executed through December 2029 via its overseas wholly owned subsidiary. The company said it will supply multi-million fibre kilometres of high-fibre-count OFC annually, manufactured as per the customer’s specifications. The next official signals will come from any subsequent regulatory updates tied to purchase orders, execution progress, or additional export contract wins.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
