A-One Steels IPO disclosure shows Rs 281 crore OFS mismatch
A-One Steels’ initial public offering (IPO) offer structure contains figures that do not reconcile. Page 724 states an offer for sale of up to Rs 50 crore by promoter selling shareholders, while three promoter entries total up to Rs 331 crore, producing a Rs 281 crore difference before the offer price and share counts are filled in.
Why does A-One Steels’ IPO offer structure not reconcile?
A-One Steels gives two incompatible descriptions of the promoter offer for sale (OFS), the IPO component in which identified selling shareholders offer existing equity shares. The opening offer-structure paragraph states that the IPO is up to Rs 405 crore, comprising a fresh issue of up to Rs 350.5 crore by A-One Steels and an OFS of up to Rs 50 crore by promoter selling shareholders. The paragraph states a face value of Rs 10 per equity share but leaves both the number of shares and offer price as placeholders.
A-One Steels then provides a three-row table headed “Name of the Promoter Selling Shareholders.” The table lists Sandeep Kumar with offered shares aggregating up to Rs 301 crore, Sunil Jallan with up to Rs 20 crore, and Krishan Kumar Jalan with up to Rs 10 crore. The three entries add to Rs 331 crore rather than the Rs 50 crore OFS stated immediately above the table.
The difference is Rs 281 crore because the promoter-table maximum of Rs 331 crore exceeds the stated promoter OFS maximum of Rs 50 crore. A-One Steels does not state on page 724 that Sandeep Kumar’s Rs 301 crore entry is excluded from the IPO, conditional on another transaction, or cancelled. Each disclosure uses “up to” to describe a maximum amount, but that wording does not reconcile the two maximum totals.
How large is the A-One Steels IPO offer-structure gap?
A-One Steels’ Rs 331 crore promoter-table total is more than six times the Rs 50 crore promoter OFS stated in the IPO summary. Sandeep Kumar’s individual entry of up to Rs 301 crore exceeds the stated full OFS by Rs 251 crore. Sunil Jallan’s Rs 20 crore and Krishan Kumar Jalan’s Rs 10 crore entries together equal Rs 30 crore.
A-One Steels’ stated IPO size also does not equal the two components in the opening description. The stated Rs 350.5 crore fresh issue plus the stated Rs 50 crore OFS equals Rs 400.5 crore, which is Rs 4.5 crore below the stated Rs 405 crore IPO size. Separately, the page states a net offer of up to Rs 403 crore and an employee reservation portion of up to Rs 2 crore, which together equal Rs 405 crore.
What does the mismatch mean for A-One Steels’ stated capital raise?
A-One Steels presents the fresh issue and promoter OFS as separate components of the Rs 405 crore IPO. The introductory paragraph describes the fresh issue as being made by A-One Steels and the OFS as being made by promoter selling shareholders. Replacing the stated Rs 50 crore OFS with the table’s Rs 331 crore maximum would change the disclosed balance between those two components.
The page identifies Sandeep Kumar, Sunil Jallan and Krishan Kumar Jalan as promoter selling shareholders, and gives December 28, 2024 as the date of each consent letter. A-One Steels does not provide an alternative allocation, reduction or explanation for any of the three table entries on page 724. Each seller’s number of offered shares remains “[●] Equity Shares,” so the share-count figures cannot be reconciled with the stated aggregate values.
A-One Steels states that the offer is being made through the book-building process in compliance with Regulations 6(1) and 31 of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements (ICDR) Regulations and Rule 19(2)(b) of the Securities Contracts (Regulation) Rules. Page 724 nevertheless supplies two incompatible promoter OFS maxima, Rs 50 crore and Rs 331 crore, rather than one reconciled amount.
Which A-One Steels IPO allocations are affected by the unresolved figures?
A-One Steels states that the Rs 405 crore IPO includes an employee reservation portion of up to Rs 2 crore and a net offer of up to Rs 403 crore. The document defines the net offer as the offer less the employee reservation portion. The Rs 403 crore net offer plus the Rs 2 crore employee reservation therefore reconciles to the stated Rs 405 crore total IPO size.
A-One Steels states that the employee reservation portion will not exceed 5% of post-offer paid-up equity share capital. However, the offer and net-offer percentages of post-offer paid-up equity share capital are both left as “[●]%.” The document consequently does not quantify the ownership percentage represented by either the IPO or the net offer.
The page names eligible employees, qualified institutional buyers (QIBs), non-institutional bidders and retail individual bidders as allocation categories. Several relevant share-count fields remain placeholders, including the number of offered shares for each promoter. The stated Rs 2 crore employee reservation is separate from the conflict between the Rs 50 crore promoter OFS and the Rs 331 crore total of the promoter entries.
How could A-One Steels’ offer terms change before allotment?
A-One Steels says it may revise the price band during the bid period in consultation with its book running lead managers, subject to the stated SEBI ICDR conditions. The document says the revised cap price must be no more than 120% of the revised floor price, while the floor price cannot be below the Rs 10 face value. A price-band revision would extend the bid period by at least three additional working days, subject to a 10-working-day maximum.
A-One Steels also says it may decide not to proceed with all or part of the offer after the bid opening date but before allotment, in consultation with the book running lead managers and promoter selling shareholders for their respective offered shares. In that event, A-One Steels says it would publish a notice giving reasons and promptly inform the stock exchanges. These disclosed procedures do not state whether the Rs 281 crore OFS difference is a drafting error, a proposed revision or another unresolved item.
Conclusion
A-One Steels’ page 724 offer structure gives two different maxima for promoter share sales: Rs 50 crore in the IPO summary and Rs 331 crore in the promoter-selling-shareholder table. The same page also shows a Rs 4.5 crore difference between the stated Rs 405 crore IPO size and the Rs 400.5 crore sum of the stated fresh issue and OFS, although the Rs 403 crore net offer plus Rs 2 crore employee portion equals Rs 405 crore.
What to watch next is whether a later offer disclosure supplies the missing share counts and identifies one reconciled promoter OFS amount. A-One Steels has disclosed a process for revising the price band and for withdrawing all or part of the offer before allotment, but page 724 does not disclose a plan to correct or explain the promoter-sale figures.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
