Acme revenue fell 42% despite automation and expansion plans
Acme Universal Safzone 9 Limited reported total revenue of Rs 105.2919 crore in FY25, 42% below Rs 181.666 crore in FY23, despite describing five manufacturing facilities, automated production systems and a Kanpur expansion project. FY25 EBITDA and profit after tax also remained below FY23, while the debt-equity ratio stayed above 1 time.
Why did Acme revenue fall 42% between FY23 and FY25?
The supplied financial benchmark confirms that Acme’s revenue fell 42% between FY23 and FY25, but it does not state a specific operational reason for the reduction. Total revenue, defined as revenue from operations plus other income, declined by Rs 76.3741 crore, from Rs 181.666 crore in FY23 to Rs 105.2919 crore in FY25. The FY25 total was 58% of the FY23 amount.
Revenue from operations, which the disclosure defines as the amount reported in the restated statement of profit and loss, also declined over the two-year comparison. Acme recorded Rs 178.944 crore in FY23 and Rs 103.315 crore in FY25, a reduction of Rs 75.629 crore, or about 42%. The reported FY24 operating-revenue figure of Rs 187.335 crore was higher than FY23 before the FY25 decline.
The FY24 entries require qualification because they do not reconcile under Acme’s stated total-revenue definition. FY24 revenue from operations of Rs 187.335 crore plus other income of Rs 3.958 crore equals Rs 191.293 crore, rather than reported total revenue of Rs 131.313 crore. The FY23 and FY25 figures support the stated two-year decline, but the FY24 discrepancy prevents a clear reading of the year-to-year revenue path.
How did Acme’s profitability and returns change?
Acme’s FY25 profit measures improved from FY24 but remained below FY23 in rupee terms. Earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation, or EBITDA, were Rs 8.4435 crore in FY25, compared with Rs 9.8489 crore in FY24 and Rs 14.5508 crore in FY23. Acme defines EBITDA as profit before tax excluding exceptional items, plus finance cost and depreciation, less other income.
The EBITDA margin, calculated as EBITDA divided by revenue from operations, rose to 8.17% in FY25 from 5.26% in FY24 and was marginally above FY23’s 8.13%. The margin increase did not restore the FY23 EBITDA amount because FY25 revenue from operations was Rs 103.315 crore, compared with Rs 178.944 crore in FY23. Higher sales or a change in the cost base would need to occur for an unchanged margin to produce FY23-scale earnings.
Profit after tax, or PAT, was Rs 3.6602 crore in FY25, above Rs 0.8042 crore in FY24 but below Rs 7.5648 crore in FY23. PAT margin was 3.54% in FY25, compared with 0.43% in FY24 and 4.23% in FY23. Return on equity, defined as PAT divided by average shareholder equity, declined to 7.24% in FY25 from 18.03% in FY23, while return on capital employed declined to 5.89% from 14.61%.
What do Acme’s debt and financing measures show?
Acme reported a debt-equity ratio of 1.05 times in FY25, slightly below 1.06 times in FY24 and FY23 but above the 0.41 times reported in FY21. The company defines debt equity as short-term borrowings plus long-term borrowings divided by shareholder equity. Under that measure, borrowings exceeded shareholder equity in FY25.
Net worth, defined as shareholders’ equity, rose to Rs 50.57 crore in FY25 from Rs 41.9565 crore in FY23, after reaching Rs 46.9107 crore in FY24. The financial benchmark does not identify the reasons for the increase in net worth. Acme’s return on assets was 2.55% in FY25, above 2.16% in FY23, even as return on equity remained below the FY23 measure.
Finance cost fell to Rs 1.5096 crore in FY25 from Rs 3.1559 crore in FY24 and Rs 2.5351 crore in FY23. Interest coverage, which Acme defines as EBITDA less depreciation divided by finance cost, increased to 2.74 times in FY25 from 0.73 times in FY24, but remained below 3.91 times in FY23. The FY25 improvement from FY24 therefore coincided with lower finance cost, without returning to the FY23 coverage level.
Can Acme’s automation and expansion plans support higher revenue?
Acme has described infrastructure that could support output growth, but the supplied disclosure does not quantify capacity, utilisation, automation savings or expected investment returns. Its five plants include a 135,000-square-foot Girwai facility and a 200,000-square-foot Banmore facility in the Gwalior area, plus two 36,000-square-foot plants in Kanpur. The built-up area for the Banther plant is not stated, although Acme says a safety-footwear plant is under way in Kanpur.
The manufacturing system includes polyurethane, or PU, moulding systems, automated stitching lines, robotic sole-moulding units and in-house testing laboratories for mechanical and chemical evaluation. Acme also cites Desma machines with robotic arms, Orisol stitching lines, digital quality control and SAP S/4 HANA enterprise-resource-planning software. These tools are described as supporting precision assembly, logistics and scalability, but the FY23-to-FY25 figures do not isolate their effects on production volume, defects or cost per unit.
Acme reports warehousing at more than 40 locations in India, more than 50 sales teams and service to more than 7,000 corporate clients. Its industrial safety footwear is supplied to construction, manufacturing, infrastructure, logistics, mining, oil and gas, and engineering customers, with exports listed to markets including the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Nigeria, Israel, the Netherlands, Hong Kong, Cameroon and Mauritius. This footprint establishes channels for sales, but a sustained revenue increase depends on orders being converted into revenue from operations.
Conclusion
Acme’s FY25 benchmark records a material contraction from FY23: total revenue declined 42%, EBITDA decreased from Rs 14.5508 crore to Rs 8.4435 crore, and PAT decreased from Rs 7.5648 crore to Rs 3.6602 crore. FY25 margins improved from FY24, but return on equity and return on capital employed remained below FY23, while debt equity was 1.05 times.
The later business disclosure reports FY26 revenue from operations of Rs 205.9031 crore, EBITDA of Rs 15.1519 crore and PAT of Rs 5.8573 crore for the year ended March 31, 2026. The next disclosed items to watch are whether Acme provides FY26 total revenue and updated return and debt measures, and whether it quantifies the effect of the Kanpur project and automation systems on capacity or operating performance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
