Hero Motors Limited ties director commission to sourced sales
Ask Iris
Hero Motors Limited has authorised sales-linked commission for independent director Andrew Charles Palmer on customer contracts resulting from his direct initiatives. The formula pays 1% of actual sales in the first year and 0.5% in each of the following two years, with payment dependent on realised sales rather than contract value alone.
How does the Hero Motors sales commission work?
Hero Motors may pay Palmer a commission only where a customer contract is signed as a result of his direct initiatives. A board resolution dated February 17, 2025, and a shareholders’ resolution dated March 12, 2025, established the entitlement, subject to caps under the Companies Act, 2013, the Companies (Appointment and Remuneration of Managerial Personnel) Rules, 2014, the company’s articles of association and other applicable laws.
The first-year rate is 1% of actual sales value generated from an eligible customer. Hero Motors defines the first year as commencing when production or execution starts, and specifies actual sales realisation as the calculation basis. A signed contract by itself is therefore not the stated basis for payment; production or execution and sales realisation must occur.
The rate falls to 0.5% of actual sales value in both the second and third years from the same customer. Hero Motors also describes the arrangement as commission relating to incremental sales from Palmer’s initiatives. The prospectus does not identify a qualifying customer, contract value, sales volume, accrued commission or maximum rupee amount under the formula.
What did Hero Motors pay independent directors in Fiscal 2026?
Hero Motors reported Rs 0.60 lakh of remuneration for Palmer in Fiscal 2026, the year ended March 31, 2026. The amount includes sitting fees and commission to the extent applicable, but the company did not split the figure between those components. The disclosure consequently does not establish whether sales commission was earned in Fiscal 2026.
A June 25, 2025 board resolution set sitting fees for independent directors at Rs 0.30 lakh per meeting. Palmer’s Fiscal 2026 remuneration was below Rs 2.10 lakh paid to Kulbir Singh and Rs 1.60 lakh paid to Pratibha Goyal, while it was below the Rs 1.10 lakh reported for Jyoti Arora and Rs 1.40 lakh for Ashok Kumar Taneja.
The comparison measures reported remuneration, not entitlement to sales commission. Hero Motors said no contingent or deferred compensation payable to any director accrued in Fiscal 2026. Separately, its bonus and profit-sharing disclosure names commission payable to Palmer for incremental sales from his initiatives as one of four specified exceptions.
Why is this different from routine board compensation?
The sales formula differs from Hero Motors’ per-meeting sitting fee because it depends on a customer-specific commercial outcome. The Rs 0.30 lakh sitting fee is payable per independent-director meeting, while the 1% and 0.5% rates require a contract attributed to Palmer’s direct initiatives and actual sales after production or execution begins.
The commission is not stated as a share of Hero Motors’ company-wide revenue, profit or market value. Its amount depends on the sales achieved by qualifying customers over up to three years. If an initiative does not result in a signed customer contract, or sales are not realised after production or execution starts, the disclosed conditions for commission are not met.
Hero Motors disclosed different performance-linked arrangements for executive directors. Abhishek Munjal’s revised terms include variable pay equal to 1% of actual consolidated earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation, or EBITDA, capped at Rs 1.50 crore, while Amit Gupta may receive commission of up to 2% of consolidated profit before tax in a year. Palmer’s formula instead uses actual sales from customer contracts linked to his initiatives.
What other commercial link does Palmer have with Hero Motors?
Hero Motors’ subsidiary HEL entered into a consultancy agreement with Palmer Automotive Limited on February 17, 2025. Under that agreement, HEL engaged Palmer Automotive Limited to provide expert advisory and consultancy services intended to enhance operations and business strategy in global markets.
Palmer is the founder and a director of Palmer Automotive Limited. The prospectus does not disclose the consultancy fee, agreement term, milestones, payments made or whether advisory work under that agreement could generate customers eligible for the separate sales-commission formula. The two arrangements have different disclosed counterparties: HEL contracts with Palmer Automotive Limited, while Hero Motors discloses the sales commission for its independent director.
Palmer joined Hero Motors as a director on July 16, 2024 and was regularised as a non-executive independent director on July 26, 2024. His disclosed five-year term began on July 16, 2024. Hero Motors describes him as a former chief executive officer of Aston Martin Lagonda with more than 45 years of experience in engineering and finance.
How does the arrangement fit Hero Motors governance disclosures?
Hero Motors reported a 10-member board as of the red herring prospectus date, comprising two executive directors and eight non-executive directors. Five directors were independent, including two women directors. The company said its board and committees complied with requirements under the Companies Act, 2013 and the Securities and Exchange Board of India Listing Regulations applicable upon listing.
The audit committee comprises Kulbir Singh as chair, nominee director Sridhar Narayan and independent director Pratibha Goyal. Its stated role includes approval or modification of related-party transactions, with only independent directors on the committee approving such transactions and other committee members required to recuse themselves from related-party discussions. Hero Motors presents the sales commission as director remuneration approved through board and shareholder resolutions.
Palmer was not among the directors listed as holders of Hero Motors equity shares at the prospectus date. The company listed seven directors or holdings on their behalf with aggregate holdings of 77.74% of pre-offer fully diluted equity share capital. This shareholding disclosure is separate from the customer-sales commission arrangement.
Conclusion
Hero Motors has disclosed a conditional commission structure under which Palmer can receive payments for up to three years from actual sales generated by customers whose contracts result from his direct initiatives. The 1% first-year rate and 0.5% rates in years two and three make payment dependent on customer sales performance rather than on attendance at board meetings or an overall company financial measure.
The next relevant disclosure would be a qualifying contract, actual sales realisation or a remuneration breakdown that separates commission from sitting fees. The prospectus also leaves unresolved the fee, duration and commercial output of HEL’s February 17, 2025 consultancy agreement with Palmer Automotive Limited.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
