Prasol Chemicals’ Rs 500 Crore IPO Is 84% Offer for Sale
Ask Iris
Prasol Chemicals Limited’s proposed Rs 500 crore initial public offering is structured mainly as an offer for sale: selling shareholders may sell shares worth up to Rs 420 crore, or 84% of the total. The company’s fresh issue is up to Rs 80 crore, representing the remaining 16% of the proposed offer.
Why is Prasol Chemicals’ Rs 500 crore IPO mainly an offer for sale?
Prasol Chemicals’ Rs 500 crore IPO is mainly an offer for sale because Rs 420 crore of the proposed amount is offered by selling shareholders rather than through new shares issued by the company. The remaining Rs 80 crore is a fresh issue by Prasol Chemicals. Dividing the Rs 420 crore offer-for-sale component by the Rs 500 crore maximum offer size gives 84%, while the fresh-issue share is 16%.
The distinction determines the transaction’s structure. A fresh issue consists of equity shares issued by Prasol Chemicals, whereas an offer for sale consists of existing equity shares offered by its selling shareholders. The offer document describes both components as being for equity shares with a face value of Rs 2 each, but does not state the number of shares because the offer price and several share-count fields remain unspecified.
What does the Rs 80 crore fresh issue mean for Prasol Chemicals?
The Rs 80 crore fresh issue means that only 16% of the maximum proposed offer is new equity capital issued by Prasol Chemicals. The offer structure identifies the fresh issue amount but does not specify, in the disclosed pages, the intended use of the Rs 80 crore or the amount of net proceeds after issue expenses. It therefore establishes the scale of new capital without establishing a project-level deployment plan.
Prasol Chemicals states that money received from the offer will be credited or transferred to a separate bank account, and that the use and any unutilised amount will continue to be disclosed in the balance sheet until all proceeds are used. This disclosure mechanism applies to offer proceeds generally, but the Rs 80 crore fresh-issue amount is materially smaller than the Rs 420 crore offer for sale. Prasol Chemicals also says it will not have recourse to net proceeds until it receives final approval for listing and trading from all stock exchanges where listing is sought.
How does the Rs 420 crore offer for sale work?
The Rs 420 crore offer for sale allows Prasol Chemicals’ selling shareholders to offer existing equity shares to public-market bidders, subject to the book-building process and regulatory conditions. Each promoter selling shareholder has undertaken that the shares offered have been held for at least one year before the draft red herring prospectus date and are free of liens or encumbrances. Those undertakings address the eligibility and transferability of the shares being sold.
The selling shareholders have also undertaken not to sell, transfer, dispose of, or create a lien over the shares offered during the transaction process, and to deposit those shares in an escrow demat account under the share escrow agreement. They say they will not have recourse to offer-for-sale proceeds until trading approval is received from every proposed stock exchange. These conditions mean the Rs 420 crore component remains subject to allotment, listing approval and the completion mechanics stated in the offer document.
How will the Rs 500 crore offer be allocated among investors?
Prasol Chemicals’ Rs 500 crore offer follows the book-building process, with no more than 50% available to qualified institutional buyers, at least 15% available to non-institutional bidders and at least 35% available to retail individual bidders. Qualified institutional buyers, or QIBs, include regulated institutions such as mutual funds, banks, insurers, alternative investment funds and eligible foreign portfolio investors. The precise number of shares in each category is not yet specified because the offer’s price-related fields are blank.
Within the QIB portion, 5% of the net QIB portion is available proportionately to mutual funds only. Up to 60% of the QIB portion may be allocated to anchor investors on a discretionary basis, subject to valid bids at or above the offer price. Of the anchor investor portion, 40% is reserved for specified domestic mutual funds, life insurers and pension funds, with 33.33% reserved for domestic mutual funds and 6.67% for life insurers and pension funds.
Non-institutional allocation is also divided by application size. One-third of the non-institutional portion is reserved for applications above Rs 2 lakh and up to Rs 10 lakh, while two-thirds is reserved for applications above Rs 10 lakh. Retail individual bidders can apply for shares with a bid value not exceeding Rs 2 lakh. If a non-QIB category is undersubscribed, its unallocated shares may be met through spill-over from other categories at Prasol Chemicals’ discretion with the book running lead manager and designated stock exchange; the QIB portion cannot be filled through such spill-over.
What conditions must hold before the offer can be completed?
Prasol Chemicals’ proposed offer must receive valid bids at or above the offer price and subsequently obtain final listing and trading approvals from the stock exchanges. Prasol Chemicals says it will apply for final listing and trading approval after allotment and within three working days of the bid or offer closing date, or within another period prescribed by law. Allotment is to occur only in dematerialised form, meaning electronic rather than physical share certificates.
Applications other than those from anchor investors use the Applications Supported by Blocked Amount, or ASBA, process, under which a self-certified syndicate bank blocks the full bid amount in the applicant’s account. Retail bidders may use the Unified Payments Interface, or UPI, mechanism, while individual IPO applications up to Rs 5 lakh must use UPI under the cited Securities and Exchange Board of India, or SEBI, master circular. Anchor investors instead pay their full bid amount when submitting their bids.
Prasol Chemicals may decide not to proceed after the closing date but before allotment, in consultation with the book running lead manager. In that event, it says it will publish reasons within two days of the closing date, instruct banks to unblock ASBA accounts within one working day after the relevant instruction, and process anchor-investor refunds where applicable. If Prasol Chemicals later chooses to proceed with a public offer after such a withdrawal, it must file a fresh draft red herring prospectus with SEBI and the stock exchanges.
Conclusion
Prasol Chemicals’ disclosed Rs 500 crore offer structure places the Rs 420 crore offer for sale at the centre of the transaction, with the Rs 80 crore fresh issue accounting for one-sixth of the proposed maximum size. That 84%-to-16% split separates the sale of existing shareholder holdings from the company’s issuance of new equity, while the book-building allocation rules apply across the total offer.
The next material disclosures are the offer price, share counts, post-offer paid-up capital percentage and any stated use for the Rs 80 crore fresh issue, all of which are unresolved in the presented offer structure. Completion also depends on valid bids, allotment and final listing and trading approvals, with a fresh filing required if Prasol Chemicals withdraws after the bid closing date and later returns to the public-offering process.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
