Prasol Chemicals Limited: Working Capital Leads Rs 343.666 Crore
Ask Iris
Prasol Chemicals Limited reported Rs 343.666 crore of outstanding borrowings on July 15, 2026, against Rs 650.9 crore of sanctioned facilities. Prasol Chemicals’ largest disclosed category was Rs 227.245 crore of non-fund-based working-capital facilities, equal to 66.12% of the outstanding total, while its facility agreements impose consent requirements and default provisions.
How much does Prasol Chemicals owe and where is the exposure?
Prasol Chemicals had aggregate outstanding borrowings of Rs 343.666 crore on July 15, 2026, excluding Rs 19.8 lakh of accrued interest on term loans that was not yet due. The Rs 650.9 crore sanctioned amount was Rs 307.234 crore above the reported outstanding total. The company says it avails loans in the ordinary course for working capital and other business requirements.
The borrowing table lists fund-based working-capital facilities, non-fund-based working-capital facilities and term loans under its secured category, and does not state an outstanding amount for unsecured borrowings. Working capital refers to financing for day-to-day business requirements, while a term loan is repaid according to a stated repayment schedule. The July 15, 2026 figures are a point-in-time disclosure and are not directly comparable with the company’s March 31, 2026 financial-year balances.
Prasol Chemicals’ filing notes that a facility is fully interchangeable with non-fund-based facilities, but does not identify the relevant line item or quantify the interchangeable portion. This qualification is relevant because the disclosed Rs 227.245 crore non-fund-based outstanding amount exceeds the separately stated Rs 120 crore sanctioned amount for that category. The borrowing table was certified by Shah Mulawa & Associates, Chartered Accountants, under a certificate dated September 2, 2026.
Why does Prasol Chemicals’ working capital lead its borrowings?
Prasol Chemicals’ non-fund-based working-capital facilities of Rs 227.245 crore made up 66.12% of its Rs 343.666 crore outstanding borrowings on July 15, 2026. Adding Rs 52 crore of fund-based working-capital facilities brings total working-capital exposure to Rs 279.245 crore, or 81.25% of outstanding borrowings. Term loans of Rs 64.421 crore accounted for the remaining 18.75%.
A non-fund-based facility is a lender-backed arrangement that does not necessarily involve an immediate cash disbursement, unlike a fund-based facility. Prasol Chemicals does not disclose a bank-wise, product-wise, customer-wise or transaction-wise split of the Rs 227.245 crore non-fund-based balance. The filing therefore identifies the category’s scale but not the individual arrangements underlying that amount.
The gap between sanctions and outstanding amounts differed across the disclosed categories on July 15, 2026. Fund-based working-capital facilities had Rs 222.5 crore between the Rs 274.5 crore sanction and Rs 52 crore outstanding, while term loans had Rs 191.979 crore between Rs 256.4 crore sanctioned and Rs 64.421 crore outstanding. The interchangeability note must hold when interpreting the non-fund-based category’s reported outstanding amount relative to its stated sanction.
What security, interest and repayment terms apply to Prasol Chemicals’ facilities?
Prasol Chemicals states that its facilities are typically secured by charges over current assets, movable assets and all types of immovable assets. A charge is a lender’s security interest in an asset. The company’s stated security package means that payment compliance, the condition of secured assets and requirements in the facility documents can affect the use of these arrangements.
Prasol Chemicals says its working-capital facilities typically have a 12-month tenor and are repayable on demand. Its term loans have periods ranging from five years to seven years and are repayable in accordance with repayment schedules. The distinction matters because the filing identifies demand repayment for working-capital facilities and scheduled repayment for term loans.
Interest on cash-credit and working-capital facilities typically ranges from 7.05% to 7.65% per annum, with spreads ranging from 0% to 2.5% per annum above a specified lender base rate. Term-loan interest rates range from 6.27% to 7.75% per annum. In certain cases, rates are linked to a fixed-deposit rate, the repo rate or another lender-specified benchmark, making the applicable benchmark and spread relevant to borrowing costs.
Which actions require lender consent from Prasol Chemicals?
Prasol Chemicals requires prior written lender consent for specified corporate actions under its facility agreements. The company states that it obtained the necessary consents for activities connected with the offer, including changes in capital structure, shareholding pattern, constitutional documents, management or board composition, where applicable.
Listed consent matters include an amalgamation, compromise, reconstruction, consolidation, demerger or merger. The agreements also cover a change in promoter shareholding or promoter directorship resulting in a change in management control, a material change in constitution or management, and amendments to the Memorandum of Association or Articles of Association.
Prasol Chemicals also identifies expansion of its current business, diversification into non-core areas and raising loans or facilities against assets already offered as bank security as restricted actions. Dividend declarations or capital withdrawals can be affected where debt servicing is delayed or a financial covenant is breached. A covenant is a contractual condition in a loan agreement, and the filing does not disclose a delay in debt servicing or a covenant breach as of July 15, 2026.
What could trigger default consequences for Prasol Chemicals?
Prasol Chemicals identifies payment default, breach of facility documents, bankruptcy, insolvency, dissolution and jeopardising security as standard events of default. Other listed triggers include a change in control, using loan proceeds for a purpose other than the stated purpose, misleading information or representations, and a default under another financing arrangement.
The facility arrangements also allow lenders to consider whether an event, condition or circumstance, including a change in law, could have a material adverse effect. Prasol Chemicals states that monthly interest applied to a loan account must be paid immediately. Failure to pay that interest can allow lenders to invoke other conditions stipulated in the agreements.
The listed consequences include termination of facilities, suspension of access to facilities, enforcement of security and appointment of nominee directors or observers. For the Rs 279.245 crore working-capital balance reported on July 15, 2026, continued facility access therefore depends on the payment, security, use-of-proceeds and other contractual conditions described in the filing.
Conclusion
Prasol Chemicals’ Rs 343.666 crore of disclosed outstanding borrowings on July 15, 2026 were concentrated in working-capital facilities, which represented Rs 279.245 crore or 81.25% of the total. The company’s disclosure also shows that the facilities are typically secured and that lender consent can be required for changes involving control, capital structure, expansion and assets already pledged as security.
The next matter to watch is compliance with the payment and covenant conditions set out in the facility agreements. Prasol Chemicals has disclosed that it obtained required consents for offer-related changes, while its agreements identify payment defaults, covenant breaches, changes in control, security concerns and cross-defaults as potential default triggers.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
