PSL Retail Private Limited cash loss nearly tripled in FY26
Ask Iris
PSL Retail’s cash loss reached Rs 114.157 crore in financial year 2025-26, nearly 2.82 times the Rs 40.431 crore reported in financial year 2024-25. The auditor’s Clause xvii disclosure states that both years’ amounts include the impact of share-based payment, making the Rs 73.726 crore increase comparable on the stated basis.
Why did PSL Retail’s cash loss nearly triple in FY26?
PSL Retail’s reported cash loss increased by 182.4% in financial year 2025-26, rising to Rs 114.157 crore from Rs 40.431 crore in financial year 2024-25. The increase was Rs 73.726 crore, while the FY26 amount was 2.823 times the FY25 amount. The Clause xvii auditor disclosure identifies both cash-loss figures and says each includes the impact of share-based payment.
The supplied disclosure does not break the FY26 cash loss into operating, financing, lease, inventory or other components. It therefore establishes the scale of the reported deterioration, but not the underlying business drivers. PSL Retail would need changes in the cash-generating or cash-consuming items captured by Clause xvii for the loss to stop increasing on the same stated basis, but the extract does not disclose those items.
The available material also does not provide PSL Retail’s FY26 revenue, cash balance, borrowings, capital expenditure or subsidiary-level cash-flow statement. Those omissions mean the Rs 114.157 crore amount cannot be attributed to a particular cost, funding source or operating development. The auditor’s wording supports a comparison of the two reported annual cash losses, rather than a conclusion about a specific cause.
How did PSL Retail’s cash loss change over three years?
PSL Retail’s latest two-year comparison shows a sharp acceleration, while the FY24 comparator requires caution because the supplied page contains two different cash-loss figures for financial year 2023-24. The FY25 auditor disclosure says the current-year loss was Rs 40.431 crore and the immediately preceding year’s loss was Rs 26.44 crore. On that sequence, the cash loss rose before increasing further to Rs 114.157 crore in FY26.
The separate financial year 2023-24 disclosure says PSL Retail incurred a current-year cash loss of Rs 43.147 crore and an immediately preceding-year loss of Rs 33.321 crore. The Rs 43.147 crore figure differs by Rs 16.707 crore from the Rs 26.44 crore FY24 comparator cited in the FY25 disclosure. The supplied material does not explain the difference through period, scope or accounting treatment.
A continuous three-year trend is therefore not fully reconciled in the supplied disclosures. The FY26-to-FY25 comparison is the clearest like-for-like measure because both figures are expressly described as including share-based payment. Share-based payment is a stated component of the reported cash-loss measure for those two years, although the extract does not quantify its individual effect.
What does PSL Retail’s cash-loss disclosure measure?
PSL Retail’s reported measure is a cash loss under Clause xvii of the auditor’s report, rather than a complete statement of cash flows or a measure of revenue growth. For financial years 2025-26 and 2024-25, the auditor explicitly describes the losses as including the impact of share-based payment. That common treatment provides the defined basis for comparing Rs 114.157 crore in FY26 with Rs 40.431 crore in FY25.
The supplied extract does not define the calculation of cash loss beyond the Clause xvii wording. It does not state how much of the FY26 Rs 114.157 crore was associated with share-based payment, nor whether the Rs 26.44 crore FY24 comparator used identical treatment. The FY24 standalone disclosure uses the term cash loss but does not add the share-based-payment wording.
The disclosed figure should not be equated with net loss, free cash flow, store-level cash generation or a specified liquidity shortfall. None of those measures is presented for PSL Retail in the supplied material. The distinction matters because a cash-loss figure under an audit-report clause is narrower than a full cash-flow presentation showing operating, investing and financing movements.
What other disclosures matter for PSL Retail’s cash burn?
PSL Retail’s cash-loss figure can be considered alongside the group’s stated liquidity-risk framework, but the supplied material does not quantify PSL Retail’s liquidity resources or obligations. Purple Style Labs Limited says liquidity risk principally arises from borrowings, lease liabilities, trade payables and other financial liabilities. The group says it monitors rolling forecasts of liquidity and cash and cash equivalents based on expected cash flows.
The extract provides no PSL Retail-specific cash balance, debt amount, lease liability, trade payable balance or funding forecast as of 31 March 2026. Purple Style Labs also states that all group borrowings were fixed-rate borrowings as of 31 March 2026, which addresses interest-rate variability rather than the subsidiary’s capacity to absorb a Rs 114.157 crore cash loss. The group’s financial-risk disclosure does not assign liquidity exposures by subsidiary.
The supplied material further records audit-trail exceptions for the holding company and its Indian subsidiary in financial years 2024-25 and 2023-24. In FY25, the audit trail for software used for sales, purchases and inventory was not enabled at database level from 1 April 2024 to 6 November 2024. Entities also could not sufficiently demonstrate the operation of the audit trail for accounting records from 1 April 2024 to 11 November 2024.
These reporting-control observations are not disclosed as a cause of PSL Retail’s FY26 cash loss. The separate emphasis-of-matter discussion says the auditor’s opinion was not modified, while the cash-loss disclosure appears under Clause xvii of the auditor’s report. The source therefore presents the control exceptions and the subsidiary’s cash losses as distinct disclosures.
Conclusion
PSL Retail’s disclosed FY26 outcome indicates that the latest comparable annual cash-loss measure rose substantially from FY25, with Rs 73.726 crore added to the reported loss on a basis that includes share-based payment in both years. The FY24 figures prevent an unqualified three-year trend because the supplied auditor excerpts cite both Rs 26.44 crore and Rs 43.147 crore for that financial year without a reconciliation.
The next item to watch is a later disclosure that reconciles the FY24 difference or provides PSL Retail-level cash-flow, cash-balance, borrowing and obligation data. Purple Style Labs says it monitors rolling liquidity forecasts and cash and cash equivalents, but the supplied extract does not state whether the subsidiary’s FY26 cash loss changed available funding or obligations after 31 March 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
