Puneet Aggarwal's Rs 160 crore incentive was 40 times pay
Ask Iris
Aggarwal received a Rs 160 crore one-time performance-based incentive in March 2026, approved by Moneyview’s board and shareholders on March 3, 2026. The payment was 40 times his Rs 4 crore aggregate compensation for Fiscal 2026, including Rs 1 crore of annual variable pay, while the filing does not disclose the performance measures behind the award.
Why did Aggarwal receive a Rs 160 crore incentive?
Aggarwal received the Rs 160 crore payment after board and shareholder resolutions dated March 3, 2026 approved a one-time performance-based incentive. The company states that the amount was paid in March 2026 and describes it as performance-based. It does not disclose the metrics, targets, assessment period, formula or business event used to determine the incentive.
The disclosed rationale is therefore limited to the payment’s performance-based designation and its approval process. The document does not state whether the award was linked to revenue, profit, user growth, financing, an initial public offering or another milestone. Attributing the Rs 160 crore payment to a specific operating or transaction outcome would go beyond the disclosed information.
Aggarwal’s underlying executive appointment was separately approved on September 2, 2025, when he was redesignated as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer for five years ending September 1, 2030. His employment agreement dated September 2, 2025 provides annual salary of Rs 4 crore, including Rs 1 crore of variable pay, plus perquisites and statutory and service benefits. The March 2026 incentive was approved through separate resolutions rather than presented as part of that annual salary package.
How large was Aggarwal's Rs 160 crore incentive against Fiscal 2026 pay?
Aggarwal's Rs 160 crore incentive was 40 times his Rs 4 crore aggregate compensation for Fiscal 2026. The calculation compares the one-time payment made in March 2026 with the compensation reported for the fiscal year: Rs 160 crore divided by Rs 4 crore equals 40. Compared with the Rs 1 crore annual variable-pay component, the incentive was 160 times larger.
The filing reports the Rs 4 crore Fiscal 2026 figure before separately disclosing the March 2026 incentive. That presentation distinguishes reported annual compensation from the one-time payment, although both were paid during the period described. Fiscal 2026 compensation included annual variable pay stated for Financial Year 2022-26, while the filing does not identify the period over which the incentive performance was assessed.
The Rs 160 crore amount also equalled 40 times the annual salary specified in the September 2025 employment agreement. That agreement permits the board, subject to the Companies Act and applicable provisions, to alter or vary the appointment and remuneration terms. The document does not say whether any change to the stated salary terms was made when the March 2026 incentive was approved.
How did Aggarwal's incentive compare with other director payments?
Aggarwal's Rs 160 crore one-time incentive exceeded the other Fiscal 2026 director compensation amounts disclosed in the filing. Sanjay Aggarwal, Executive Director and Chief Technology Officer, received Rs 3 crore from material subsidiary WFPL in Fiscal 2026, including Rs 50 lakh of annual variable pay. Aggarwal’s incentive alone was about 53.3 times Sanjay Aggarwal’s reported WFPL compensation.
The three independent directors received a combined Rs 75.5 lakh from Moneyview in Fiscal 2026 as sitting fees and remuneration. Alpana Parida and Sameer Kumar Baisiwala each received Rs 26.2 lakh, while Anil Berera received Rs 23.1 lakh. These payments were below the shareholder-approved annual limit of up to Rs 40 lakh for each independent director, including a Rs 10 lakh sitting fee for each board or committee meeting, plus expense reimbursement.
The categories are not identical. Aggarwal’s Rs 160 crore amount was a one-time performance-based incentive, whereas Sanjay Aggarwal’s Rs 3 crore was aggregate compensation from WFPL and the independent-director amounts covered sitting fees and remuneration. The non-executive director who was not independent received no sitting fees, commission or remuneration from Moneyview in Fiscal 2026.
What governance disclosures apply to Aggarwal's incentive?
Aggarwal's Rs 160 crore incentive was approved by both the board and shareholders on March 3, 2026. The filing does not provide voting results, identify a committee recommendation or set out any conditions attached to the payment. It also says that, other than disclosed remuneration arrangements, no director was party to a bonus or profit-sharing plan.
Moneyview had six directors as of the Red Herring Prospectus date: two executive directors, one non-executive director and three independent directors, including one woman independent director. The company says that composition complied with the Companies Act and Securities and Exchange Board of India, or SEBI, Listing Regulations. Its audit committee, constituted on September 2, 2025, comprised Anil Berera as chairperson, Sameer Kumar Baisiwala and Sanjay Aggarwal.
The filing also states that no contingent or deferred compensation outside director remuneration was payable and that none of the directors had a service contract entitling them to termination benefits. Those disclosures set boundaries around separately identified director-pay arrangements. They do not provide additional detail on the performance criteria for Aggarwal’s March 2026 payment.
Conclusion
The disclosed figures show that Aggarwal’s March 2026 one-time incentive was materially different in scale from his annual compensation and from other director payments reported for Fiscal 2026. The filing establishes the Rs 160 crore amount, its March 3, 2026 approvals and its performance-based description, but not the performance measures used to support it.
The next relevant disclosure would be any later explanation of the performance period, targets or conditions behind the incentive. Aggarwal’s disclosed Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer term continues until September 1, 2030, and the September 2025 employment terms allow the board to alter remuneration subject to the Companies Act and applicable provisions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
