Rentomojo’s OFS Has Accel as Largest Seller, Promoter at 3%
Ask Iris
Rentomojo’s proposed offer for sale (OFS) is led by Accel India IV (Mauritius) Limited, which is offering up to 7,846,951 equity shares, or 28.67% of the stated 27,365,529-share OFS. Investor selling shareholders collectively account for 90.82% of that stated total, while promoter Geetansh Bamani offers up to 849,175 shares, or 3.10%.
How large is Accel’s sale in Rentomojo’s OFS?
Accel India IV (Mauritius) Limited is the largest named seller in Rentomojo’s OFS, offering up to 7,846,951 equity shares. That represents 28.67% of the stated 27,365,529-share OFS and 7.82% of the 100,400,342 equity shares outstanding before the offer. The offer document gives each share a face value of Rs 1, but does not disclose the offer price.
Accel’s proposed sale is 2.72 times the 2,882,794 shares offered by Edelweiss Discovery Fund - Series I, the next-largest seller. The six largest investor sellers offer 20,647,163 shares in aggregate, equal to 75.45% of the stated OFS, making the secondary component concentrated among a limited group of funds and investment entities.
The offer document records Accel’s board or investment-committee approval on March 13, 2026, followed by its consent letter dated March 19, 2026. It also says each selling shareholder, severally and not jointly, confirmed that its offered shares had been held for at least one year before the filing of the draft red herring prospectus, as required for OFS eligibility under Regulation 8 of the Securities and Exchange Board of India Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements Regulations.
How much of Rentomojo’s OFS comes from investors?
Investor selling shareholders offer up to 24,852,559 shares, equal to 90.82% of Rentomojo’s stated 27,365,529-share OFS. The category contains 12 entities, from Accel’s 7,846,951 shares to VCAt’s Management Services Trust - II’s 76,260 shares, and includes venture funds, investment funds and corporate investors.
The promoter offers up to 849,175 shares, or 3.10% of the stated OFS. Five individual selling shareholders offer 1,657,995 shares in total, or 6.06%, led by Renaud Laplanche with 755,405 shares and followed by Gaurav Bamania with 400,000 shares. The document identifies Geetansh Bamani as the sole promoter selling shareholder.
The disclosed seller line items add to 27,359,729 shares, which is 5,800 shares below the stated OFS total of 27,365,529 shares. The percentage calculations use the stated OFS total, while the document does not explain the 5,800-share difference. On the listed line items, non-promoter sellers offer 26,510,554 shares, equal to 96.88% of the stated total.
An OFS transfers existing shares from selling shareholders to new shareholders, unlike a fresh issue, which creates shares and raises funds for the company. Rentomojo does not disclose the percentage of each seller’s existing holding represented by the offered shares, so the stated maximum share counts do not establish the ownership each seller would retain after the offer.
What proceeds will Rentomojo receive from the offer?
Rentomojo will receive proceeds from the proposed fresh issue of up to Rs 150 crore, but it will receive no proceeds from the OFS. The OFS comprises up to 27,365,529 existing equity shares, and proceeds from those shares would go to the relevant selling shareholders rather than to Rentomojo.
The eventual value of Accel’s 7,846,951-share sale cannot be calculated from the document because the offer price and aggregate OFS proceeds are placeholders. The final number of fresh-issue shares, total offer shares and equity shares outstanding after the offer are also placeholders, although Rentomojo had 100,400,342 outstanding shares before the offer.
The offer structure includes an employee reservation portion aggregating up to Rs 2 crore. The remaining net offer is intended for qualified institutional buyers (QIBs), non-institutional bidders and retail bidders, but the share quantities for those categories are not yet specified. A QIB is an institution meeting regulatory eligibility criteria for an institutional offering allocation.
Rentomojo may allocate up to 60% of the QIB portion to anchor investors on a discretionary basis under the Securities and Exchange Board of India regulations. Of the anchor investor portion, 40% is reserved for eligible anchor investor categories, including 33.33% for domestic mutual funds and 6.67% for life insurance companies and pension funds, subject to valid bids.
What approvals and conditions govern Rentomojo’s OFS?
Rentomojo’s board approved the offer on March 2, 2026, and shareholders authorised the fresh issue through a special resolution passed on March 4, 2026. The board took on record the selling shareholders’ consents through resolutions dated March 19, 2026, August 21, 2026 and September 3, 2026.
The selling shareholders authorised their respective OFS portions separately, rather than jointly. Consent dates span March to September 2026: Edelweiss Discovery Fund - Series I, IDG Ventures India Fund III LLC and MSVIC 2018V Venture Capital Investment Limited Partnership each gave consent letters dated September 1, 2026, while several other investors provided consent letters on March 19, 2026.
The employee reservation terms set an allocation cap of Rs 20 lakh for an eligible employee, unless the reservation is undersubscribed. In an undersubscription, eligible employees bidding above Rs 20 lakh may receive an allocation up to Rs 50 lakh, after which any remaining employee-reservation shares would be added to the net offer.
The document also divides the non-institutional portion by application value. One-third is reserved for applications above Rs 20 lakh and up to Rs 1 crore, while two-thirds is reserved for applications above Rs 1 crore; any unsubscribed shares in one sub-category may be allocated to the other, subject to applicable regulations.
Conclusion
Rentomojo’s proposed offer combines a fresh issue of up to Rs 150 crore with a secondary share sale dominated by existing investor holders. Accel accounts for 28.67% of the stated OFS, and the 12 investor entities account for 90.82%, compared with the promoter’s 3.10%. The offer document’s seller line items, however, total 5,800 shares less than its stated OFS total.
The next disclosure to watch is the final offer price, along with the fresh-issue share count and post-offer share count, which remain placeholders. Those figures will establish the cash value of Accel’s proposed sale, the final total offer size and the dilution created by the Rs 150 crore fresh issue.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
