Runwal records FY26 customer revenue only at point in time
Ask Iris
Runwal Enterprises Limited recorded Rs 1,770.720 crore of revenue from customer contracts in the year ended March 31, 2026, and its entire disclosed amount was transferred at a point in time. Customer collections not yet matched to satisfied performance obligations ended at Rs 5,600.234 crore, up Rs 821.045 crore from March 31, 2025.
How does Runwal recognise customer revenue at a point in time?
Runwal recognised all disclosed revenue from contracts with customers at a point in time in FY26, with no revenue recorded in the over-time category. Under Indian Accounting Standard 115, or Ind AS 115, which governs revenue from contracts with customers, the group reported Rs 1,770.720 crore of point-in-time revenue for the year ended March 31, 2026.
The same timing classification applied in the two preceding financial years, although the revenue amount changed. Point-in-time customer-contract revenue was Rs 1,003.494 crore in FY25 and Rs 2,396.949 crore in FY24, while the over-time category was blank in all three years. FY26 revenue was therefore Rs 767.226 crore higher than FY25 but Rs 626.229 crore below FY24.
Runwal does not identify handover, possession or another named event as the trigger for point-in-time recognition. The disclosure instead states that its contracts concern construction and sale of residential units, with customers making payments according to contractual milestones. The point-in-time classification is therefore reported, but the specific contractual event that satisfies the performance obligation is not disclosed in the FY26 note.
Why are Runwal's customer collections not yet recognised as revenue?
Runwal's Rs 5,600.234 crore closing contract liability represents consideration collected from customers before the group has satisfied its performance obligations. Contract liabilities increased from Rs 4,779.189 crore at March 31, 2025 and Rs 4,226.455 crore at March 31, 2024, showing that the balance rose by Rs 821.045 crore during FY26 and Rs 1,373.779 crore over two years.
The FY26 movement arose because customer receipts exceeded the amount released as obligations were satisfied. Runwal collected Rs 2,591.765 crore during FY26 and recognised Rs 1,770.720 crore as performance obligations were satisfied, leaving the Rs 821.045 crore increase in the contract-liability balance. The reconciliation contains no other movement between the opening and closing balances.
Runwal separately defines a contract asset as an amount for transferred goods or services where the right to consideration remains conditional. A contract liability is consideration received before the performance obligation is satisfied, and the group says these balances are not offset because they are not legally enforceable against each other. The Rs 5,600.234 crore liability is consequently not reported as recognised FY26 revenue.
The amount recognised from the opening contract-liability balance was Rs 1,770.720 crore in FY26, compared with Rs 1,003.494 crore in FY25 and Rs 2,396.949 crore in FY24. The FY26 release from the opening balance matches total FY26 customer-contract revenue reported in the timing table. The note also states there were no significant revenue reversals during the reported period.
What sales costs and payment conditions accompany Runwal's residential contracts?
Runwal carried Rs 256.232 crore of closing brokerage and stamp-duty-waiver scheme costs related to residential-unit sales at March 31, 2026. This asset increased from Rs 239.879 crore at March 31, 2025 and Rs 233.593 crore at March 31, 2024, an FY26 increase of Rs 16.353 crore.
These capitalised sales-related costs are distinct from the Rs 5,600.234 crore contract liability arising from customer collections. The Ind AS 115 note labels the former as brokerage and stamp-duty-waiver scheme costs pertaining to residential units, while it defines the latter as consideration received before a performance obligation has been satisfied. Neither category changes the Rs 1,770.720 crore point-in-time revenue classification in FY26.
Runwal also discloses a separate contingent brokerage obligation of Rs 11.463 crore at March 31, 2026. Under its broker agreements, brokerage becomes payable when 10% of consideration for the relevant broker-sold unit has been received; the comparable contingent amount was Rs 11.674 crore at March 31, 2025 and Rs 9.743 crore at March 31, 2024.
The 10% collection condition shows that a payment obligation to a broker can arise before the group reports customer-contract revenue. Revenue recognition, however, remains tied to satisfaction of the customer performance obligation under the contracts and Ind AS 115. For the accumulated customer collections to become revenue, Runwal must satisfy those obligations under the undisclosed point-in-time trigger.
Does Runwal provide project or geographic detail for this revenue?
Runwal does not provide a project-level or geographic segment split for its Rs 1,770.720 crore of FY26 customer-contract revenue. The group identifies real estate development as its sole business segment and India as its only country of domicile, so it says segment-wise information is not required.
The Board of Directors is Runwal's chief operating decision maker, or CODM, under Ind AS 108, the accounting standard for operating segments. The CODM evaluates performance and allocates resources using business performance indicators, but the note does not divide the Rs 5,600.234 crore contract-liability balance among projects, residential developments or locations.
The reported figures are consolidated group amounts in restated consolidated financial statements. That presentation means the FY26 increase of Rs 821.045 crore in contract liabilities can be measured at group level, but the disclosure does not identify which project generated the receipts or which project-level obligations remain unsatisfied at March 31, 2026.
Conclusion
Runwal's FY26 statements distinguish customer cash collections from recognised revenue: Rs 2,591.765 crore was collected during the year, while Rs 1,770.720 crore was recognised only at a point in time. The difference increased contract liabilities to Rs 5,600.234 crore, representing customer consideration received for performance obligations that remained unsatisfied at the reporting date.
The next financial update will show whether further obligations convert the Rs 5,600.234 crore balance into revenue and whether new customer receipts continue to exceed releases from contract liabilities. A later disclosure would also need to identify the precise contractual event behind point-in-time recognition to establish whether handover, possession or another event is the recognition trigger.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
