Shellz India says six creditor insolvency cases were closed
Ask Iris
Shellz India disclosed that six operational creditors filed insolvency applications between September 2019 and May 2026. Five applications were dismissed as withdrawn following settlement and one was dismissed, according to Shellz India’s risk-factor disclosure, although the record sits alongside Rs 109.4912 crore of outstanding indebtedness at June 30, 2026.
What creditor insolvency cases did Shellz India disclose?
Shellz India said six operational creditors filed applications under Section 9 of the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, 2016, or IBC, before the National Company Law Tribunal, New Delhi. Section 9 is a mechanism through which an operational creditor can seek to start a corporate insolvency resolution process over an operational debt. The six filing dates span September 2, 2019 to May 20, 2026.
Five of the six applications were dismissed as withdrawn following settlement, while the application by Raghubir Saran And Sons was dismissed on February 7, 2024. Shellz India did not disclose the operational-debt amount claimed by any applicant, the settlement amounts in the withdrawn matters, or a common reason for the filings. The disclosure therefore supports the stated outcomes, but not a conclusion that every case was settled.
How frequent were Shellz India’s creditor insolvency petitions?
Shell India’s six creditor insolvency petitions were spread across six calendar years rather than concentrated in a single period: 2019, 2020, 2022, 2023, 2025 and 2026 each had one disclosed filing. The filing pattern included gaps of more than two years between the September 2023 Raghubir Saran And Sons case and the April 2025 Baba Industries case, based on the disclosed dates.
The two most recent cases extended the record into 2026. Rotopack Inc. filed its application on May 20, 2026, and it was dismissed as withdrawn on September 9, 2026. Baba Industries filed on April 7, 2025 and its application was dismissed as withdrawn on February 27, 2026. The disclosed sequence shows repeated proceedings, but every listed matter had a reported order by September 9, 2026.
The distinction between a dismissal and a withdrawal after settlement is material. Shellz India states that the applications were either dismissed as withdrawn upon settlement or dismissed, but identifies no settlement for the Raghubir Saran And Sons matter. The prospectus also says disputes with customers, suppliers and other counterparties can lead to proceedings under the IBC and the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881, or NI Act.
How does Shellz India’s debt position affect the disclosed risk?
Shellz India reported Rs 112.8304 crore of sanctioned fund-based and non-fund-based indebtedness and Rs 109.4912 crore outstanding as of June 30, 2026. The borrowings were used for expansion, capital assets, vehicles and working-capital requirements. The Rs 3.3392 crore difference between sanctioned and outstanding indebtedness reflects capacity that was not outstanding on that reporting date.
Shellz India’s debt-to-equity ratio was 1.72 times for the three months ended June 30, 2026, compared with 1.71 times in Fiscal 2026, 1.93 times in Fiscal 2025 and 2.63 times in Fiscal 2024. The ratio declined by 0.92 times between Fiscal 2024 and the three months ended June 30, 2026. Shellz India does not attribute this movement to a particular repayment, equity issuance or financing transaction.
Shellz India also disclosed delays in servicing principal or interest that appeared in credit-history records, including reports issued by credit information companies. It attributed the delays to temporary liquidity constraints or timing differences in cash flows. Under the stated loan terms, further delays could permit lenders to charge penal interest, demand early repayment or initiate recovery actions.
What could cause further payment or supplier pressure at Shellz India?
Shellz India said certain borrowings are unsecured and repayable on demand, allowing lenders to recall those loans at any time. One such unsecured loan had already been recalled, and Shellz India said it must repay the outstanding amount in line with the lender’s demand, although it did not disclose the amount. A further recall could require alternative financing or the use of internal cash flows within the lender’s required timeline.
Supplier relationships are relevant because Shellz India sourced raw materials from 132 suppliers in the three months ended June 30, 2026 and 249 suppliers in Fiscal 2026. It generally procures cocoa, sugar, milk solids, cereal flours and edible fats through purchase orders or short-term arrangements, rather than long-term supply agreements. Suppliers therefore are not contractually required to continue supplying on current terms, or at all.
Cost of materials consumed was Rs 35.0539 crore in the three months ended June 30, 2026 and Rs 128.2557 crore in Fiscal 2026, representing 84.27% and 73.76% of total expenses respectively. The Fiscal 2026 share was lower than 89.77% in Fiscal 2025 and 91.47% in Fiscal 2024, while material cost fell from Rs 156.8967 crore in Fiscal 2025. Shellz India reported no raw-material shortages during the last three fiscals and the current fiscal, but said disputes could lead suppliers to tighten credit terms or restrict supplies.
Shellz India also reported net cash used in operating activities of Rs 11.3059 crore in Fiscal 2026, compared with net cash generated from operations of Rs 22.108 crore in Fiscal 2025. It attributed the Fiscal 2026 operating outflow primarily to Rs 26.7719 crore of advance payments to suppliers. Net cash from operating activities returned to Rs 6.2611 crore in the three months ended June 30, 2026, but those three-month figures are not annualised.
Conclusion
Shellz India’s disclosure records six Section 9 applications by operational creditors filed from 2019 through 2026, with five dismissed as withdrawn following settlement and one dismissed. The reported outcomes mean the six listed cases were closed by their respective order dates, but the filings occurred alongside repayment delays in credit records, an unsecured-loan recall and Rs 109.4912 crore of outstanding indebtedness at June 30, 2026.
The next disclosed development to watch is Shellz India’s proposed shift of its entire manufacturing operation from Delhi to Barhi, Sonipat, Haryana. Shellz India said the plan requires machinery relocation, utility and regulatory arrangements, workforce stabilisation and additional expenditure; it spent Rs 12.453 crore on fixed assets, including capital work-in-progress, for the Sonipat facility in the three months ended June 30, 2026. The prospectus says delays or disruptions in that transition could affect production, cash flows and liquidity.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker