The Company raised Rs 40 crore and cut fresh issue size
Ask Iris
The Company raised Rs 40 crore through a pre-initial public offering, or pre-IPO, placement of 24,24,242 equity shares to 78 allottees at Rs 165 per share on July 28, 2025. The Company reduced the fresh issue by the placement amount, leaving a revised fresh issue of up to Rs 129 crore.
How did The Company raise Rs 40 crore before the IPO?
The Company raised Rs 40 crore through a private placement of 24,24,242 fully paid equity shares, each with a face value of Rs 10, at an issue price of Rs 165. The July 28, 2025 allotment was made for cash to 78 allottees, according to the share-capital history in the Red Herring Prospectus.
The issue price was Rs 165 for an equity share with a Rs 10 face value. The placement increased the cumulative number of equity shares to 2,71,74,242 from 2,47,50,000 after the October 18, 2022 allotment, an addition of 24,24,242 shares.
The Company describes the transaction as a pre-IPO placement undertaken in consultation with the book-running lead managers, or BRLMs, which manage the issue process. The Red Herring Prospectus says the private placement was permitted under applicable law and did not exceed 20% of the fresh-issue size disclosed in the Draft Red Herring Prospectus, or DRHP.
Why did The Company cut fresh issue size by Rs 40 crore?
The Company cut fresh issue size by the full Rs 40 crore raised in the pre-IPO placement, resulting in a revised fresh issue of up to Rs 129 crore. The Red Herring Prospectus states that the adjustment is subject to compliance with Rule 19(2)(b) of the Securities Contracts (Regulation) Rules, 1957, or SCRR.
The stated mechanism means the capital raised privately is deducted from the planned fresh issue rather than added to it. The disclosure does not specify a separate use for the Rs 40 crore placement proceeds, but it specifies that the fresh issue was revised to up to Rs 129 crore after the reduction.
The Company’s Board authorised the offer on March 6, 2025, while shareholders authorised the fresh issue through a special resolution on April 9, 2025. Those authorisations preceded the July 28, 2025 placement, and the Rs 129 crore revised fresh-issue amount appears in the capital-structure section of the Red Herring Prospectus.
What did the pre-IPO placement change in The Company’s share capital?
The Company’s pre-IPO placement increased issued, subscribed and paid-up equity shares by 24,24,242 shares, or about 9.8% of the 2,47,50,000 shares outstanding after the October 2022 allotment. After the placement, The Company reported 2,71,74,242 fully paid equity shares, all with a Rs 10 face value.
The July 2025 placement differed from The Company’s two earlier equity issuances in March 2021 and October 2022. The earlier allotments involved conversion of loans into equity at Rs 10 per share and consideration other than cash, while the July 2025 allotment was a cash private placement at Rs 165 per share.
The Company has one class of share capital, equity shares, and says all issued equity shares are fully paid up. As of the Red Herring Prospectus date, The Company reported no outstanding convertible instruments, no preference share capital and no employee stock-option scheme under which equity shares had been granted or transferred.
How concentrated was The Company’s ownership after the placement?
The Company reported 122 shareholders as of the Red Herring Prospectus date, comprising five promoters and promoter-group shareholders and 117 public non-institutional shareholders. The 78 placement allottees were a broad group for a single private allotment, although the Red Herring Prospectus does not state that each became a new shareholder.
Promoters and the promoter group held 2,07,90,000 shares, or 76.51% of the 2,71,74,242 outstanding shares, after the placement. Public non-institutional shareholders held 63,84,242 shares, or 23.49%, so the promoter and promoter-group category remained the larger ownership block before the offer.
The seven shareholders holding at least 1% each together owned 2,47,50,000 shares, or 91.09% of The Company’s paid-up equity capital. Vinay Gupta held 70,27,500 shares, or 25.86%, while Ruchira Gupta held 51,00,000 shares, or 18.77%; neither appears in the disclosed July 2025 list of 78 placement allottees.
What reporting applies to The Company’s fresh-issue proceeds?
The Company told pre-IPO placement subscribers before allotment that there was no assurance the offer would proceed or successfully result in listing of the equity shares on stock exchanges. That notice distinguishes the completed July 28, 2025 private placement from the public offer, which remains subject to required filings and listing approvals.
For the fresh issue, The Company appointed Crisil Ratings Limited as monitoring agency under Regulation 41 of the Securities and Exchange Board of India Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements Regulations. Crisil Ratings Limited is to monitor use of gross proceeds from the fresh issue, and The Company undertakes to place its reports before the Audit Committee without delay.
The Company says it will disclose use of gross proceeds, including interim use, in its balance sheet for the fiscal periods required by applicable regulations. The Company also undertakes to provide quarterly disclosures to the Audit Committee on the uses and applications of gross proceeds, and quarterly statements to stock exchanges on actual utilisation and category-wise variations from stated objects until all gross proceeds are utilised.
Conclusion
The Company’s Rs 40 crore pre-IPO placement brought cash from 78 allottees before the public offer and reduced the revised fresh issue to up to Rs 129 crore by the same amount. The transaction increased outstanding equity shares to 2,71,74,242, while promoters and the promoter group retained 76.51% ownership as of the Red Herring Prospectus date.
The next disclosed development is reporting on fresh-issue proceeds. Crisil Ratings Limited will monitor utilisation, while The Company has committed to quarterly Audit Committee and stock-exchange disclosures for as long as any gross proceeds remain unutilised; the offer and listing were not assured when pre-IPO subscribers received their shares.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
