The Company Received SEBI Warnings on AIF Process Lapses
Ask Iris
The Company received administrative warnings from the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) on July 16, 2026 after an inspection of certain alternative investment funds (AIFs) it managed. The warnings covered investment processes, investor disclosures and policy implementation, while settlement applications from the Company, a relevant fund and ESIPL remained pending.
What did SEBI warn The Company and its AIF affiliates about?
SEBI warned the Company and specified AIF participants about non-adherence to investment processes, investor disclosure requirements and policy implementation. The July 16, 2026 administrative warnings were issued to certain funds, the Company as investment manager, ESIPL as sponsor of the relevant fund, and key managerial personnel of certain funds.
An AIF is a privately pooled investment vehicle governed by the SEBI AIF Regulations. The Company was identified as the investment manager for the inspected funds, while ESIPL, one of the Company’s promoters, was identified as sponsor of the relevant fund. The disclosure does not name the funds, state how many funds received warnings, or report a monetary penalty associated with the July 16, 2026 warnings.
The warnings followed a thematic inspection conducted under Regulation 30 of the SEBI AIF Regulations. SEBI’s inspection report dated March 18, 2025 recorded observations on inadequate disclosures of potential conflicts of interest, including implementation of relevant policies, and inaccurate disclosures in annual compliance test reports. The warning notice identified investment processes, investor disclosures and policy implementation as the areas requiring attention.
The disclosure therefore establishes regulatory concerns across both fund operations and governance disclosures. It does not state the assets under management of the affected funds, the number of investors involved, any investor loss, or a final finding of contravention by SEBI. Those undisclosed points limit conclusions about the financial scale of the matter.
How did the SEBI inspection lead to pending settlement applications?
The SEBI process developed from a March 2025 inspection report into separate settlement applications filed between December 2025 and July 2026. The Company submitted a detailed written response to SEBI on April 16, 2025 and subsequently supplied clarifications and supporting submissions requested by the regulator.
Without admitting any observation or conclusion in SEBI’s March 18, 2025 inspection report, the Company filed a settlement application on December 2, 2025 under the SEBI (Settlement Proceedings) Regulations, 2018. The prospectus states that this application remained pending before SEBI. It does not disclose a settlement order, a settlement amount, remediation directions or a date for final disposal.
SEBI subsequently sought separate engagement from additional parties. Through an email dated June 11, 2026 and later communications, SEBI directed the relevant fund, ESIPL as sponsor, and certain key managerial personnel of the fund to file their respective settlement applications. The relevant fund and ESIPL each filed separate applications on July 6, 2026, and both applications were also pending.
The Company also asked SEBI by email on July 6, 2026 to dispense with separate settlement applications from the relevant key managerial personnel. The Company said those personnel had acted only in their official capacities. The prospectus does not disclose whether SEBI granted the requested dispensation.
Which entities are involved in The Company’s SEBI warnings?
The SEBI warnings cover the Company, certain funds, ESIPL and certain fund personnel, with each entity assigned a distinct role in the disclosure. The Company received warnings as investment manager, ESIPL received warnings as sponsor of the relevant fund, and the individuals were described as key managerial personnel of certain funds.
The division of roles is reflected in the settlement process. The Company filed its application on December 2, 2025, while the relevant fund and ESIPL filed distinct applications on July 6, 2026 after SEBI’s June 11, 2026 communication. The regulator’s request for applications from the fund, sponsor and personnel indicates that its process was not confined to the Company as manager.
The prospectus states that no disciplinary actions, including penalties, had been imposed by SEBI or stock exchanges against the Company’s promoters in the five financial years preceding the prospectus date, except for matters disclosed in the litigation section. The warnings and settlement applications are disclosed as current regulatory matters; the provided disclosure does not describe them as completed disciplinary penalties.
The Company’s board adopted its materiality policy for litigation disclosure on January 19, 2026. The policy set a threshold of Rs 11.169 crore for certain civil litigation involving the Company, based on 5.00% of the average absolute profit or loss after tax for the preceding three financial years. Regulatory actions, criminal proceedings and tax claims are treated separately from that civil-litigation threshold.
What do The Company’s SEBI warnings establish and leave unresolved?
The Company’s disclosure establishes an active regulatory process, not a final SEBI determination. The inspection report was issued on March 18, 2025, the Company sought settlement on December 2, 2025, the fund and ESIPL sought settlement on July 6, 2026, and administrative warnings were issued on July 16, 2026.
The record also separates inspection observations from admissions. The Company expressly says it filed its December 2, 2025 settlement application without admitting any observation or conclusion in the inspection report. A pending settlement application does not, on the disclosed facts, establish that SEBI has accepted a settlement or closed the matter.
The prospectus provides no disclosed monetary value for the warnings or settlement applications. By comparison, the Company’s material-creditor policy used Rs 5.886 crore as its threshold, equal to 5.00% of total trade payables of Rs 117.711 crore for the three months ended June 30, 2026. Those creditor thresholds are disclosure measures and do not quantify the significance of SEBI’s AIF observations.
The persistence of the regulatory matter depends on SEBI’s decisions on the three pending settlement applications and on the Company’s request concerning fund personnel. The disclosure does not state whether the Company, the relevant fund or ESIPL has completed changes to investment processes, investor disclosures or policy implementation after the July 16, 2026 warnings.
Conclusion
The Company’s SEBI warnings arose from a thematic inspection of certain AIFs and extend across the investment manager, specified funds, the sponsor ESIPL and certain fund personnel. The disclosed concerns concern adherence to investment processes, investor disclosures and policy implementation, while the March 2025 report also identified conflicts-related disclosures and annual compliance test reports.
The next disclosed development to watch is SEBI’s decision on the Company’s December 2, 2025 application and the July 6, 2026 applications filed by the relevant fund and ESIPL. SEBI’s response to the Company’s July 6, 2026 request for dispensation for key managerial personnel, and any later settlement order or remediation direction, would determine the pending matter’s outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker