Vinay Gupta’s transfers reshaped a 76.51% promoter stake
Ask Iris
Vinay Gupta’s transfers reshaped ownership before the initial public offering, or IPO, through April 2023 cash sales of 1.19 crore shares and September 2024 acquisitions of 43.08 lakh shares. Vinay Gupta subsequently held 70.28 lakh shares, while five promoters together held 2.08 crore shares, or 76.51% of pre-issue equity capital.
How did Vinay Gupta’s 2023 stake sales change ownership?
Vinay Gupta transferred 1.19 crore equity shares on April 30, 2023 at Rs 14.80 per share in four cash secondary transactions. A secondary transaction is a transfer between existing shareholders rather than a fresh allotment by the company. The transfers reduced Vinay Gupta’s disclosed cumulative holding from 1.45 crore shares after the March 25, 2021 loan conversion to 26.20 lakh shares.
The four April 2023 transfers divided the shares between two holders now classified as promoters and two holders classified as selling shareholders. Biren Parnami and Manoj Modi each received 39.60 lakh shares, representing 14.57% of pre-issue capital apiece. Ishita Bhartia and Ishaan Bhartia each received 19.80 lakh shares, representing 7.29% apiece.
The classification of the recipients explains why the April 2023 transactions had different implications for the pre-IPO structure. Biren Parnami and Manoj Modi together held 79.20 lakh shares, or 29.14% of pre-issue capital, as promoters. Ishita Bhartia and Ishaan Bhartia together held 39.60 lakh shares, or 14.57%, as selling shareholders in the pre-offer ownership table.
How did Vinay Gupta’s 2024 gifts and purchases rebuild the stake?
Vinay Gupta acquired 43.08 lakh shares through transfers recorded on September 28 and September 29, 2024. The acquisitions comprised 1 lakh shares from Vatsalya Gupta by gift deed, 41.08 lakh shares from Babulal Gupta by gift deed, and 1 lakh shares each from Rajesh Gadia and Vikram Agarwal. The two gift transfers accounted for 42.08 lakh shares and did not state a cash consideration.
The two September 29, 2024 cash transfers added 2 lakh shares at Rs 20 per share, taking Vinay Gupta’s stated holding to 70.28 lakh shares. That holding represented 25.86% of the 2.72 crore pre-issue equity shares outstanding. In the fully diluted shareholding list for two years before the Red Herring Prospectus, Vinay Gupta held 26.20 lakh shares, or 10.59%, showing the increase in his ownership percentage after the September 2024 transfers.
Babulal Gupta’s holding shows the mechanical effect of the largest gift. Babulal Gupta held 48.50 lakh shares after the October 18, 2022 conversion of a loan into equity, then transferred 41.08 lakh shares to Vinay Gupta and retained 7.43 lakh shares, or 2.73% of pre-issue capital. The promoter build-up table dates this transfer September 29, 2024, while the secondary-transaction table dates the gift deed September 28, 2024; both identify Babulal Gupta as transferor and Vinay Gupta as transferee.
What did the promoter ownership look like before the IPO?
The five promoters held 2.08 crore shares, or 76.51% of the 2.72 crore equity shares outstanding before the offer. Vinay Gupta was the largest individual promoter at 70.28 lakh shares, or 25.86%. Ruchira Gupta held 51 lakh shares, or 18.77%, while Biren Parnami and Manoj Modi each held 39.60 lakh shares, or 14.57%.
The 76.51% figure is a collective promoter measure rather than Vinay Gupta’s individual stake. Vinay Gupta’s 25.86% was 50.65 percentage points lower than the five-promoter total, with Babulal Gupta’s 7.43 lakh shares contributing the remaining 2.73% alongside the four larger promoter holdings. The company’s shareholding pattern recorded no separate promoter-group shareholders.
The comparison with public ownership quantifies the pre-offer concentration. The shareholding pattern listed five promoters with 2.08 crore shares and 117 public shareholders with 63.84 lakh shares, or 23.49% of capital. Seven holders with at least 1% each, including the five promoters and the two Bhartia selling shareholders, collectively held 2.48 crore shares, or 91.09% of equity capital.
What can change the disclosed pre-offer ownership structure?
The final post-offer ownership structure was not specified in the Red Herring Prospectus because post-offer shareholding fields were marked with placeholders. Ishita Bhartia and Ishaan Bhartia were identified as selling shareholders with 19.80 lakh shares each, together representing 14.57% of pre-offer capital. The disclosed tables therefore establish the pre-offer position but do not provide completed post-offer percentages.
Lock-in requirements also affect the transferability of the promoters’ shares after allotment. Under the Securities and Exchange Board of India Issue of Capital and Disclosure Requirements Regulations, or SEBI ICDR Regulations, the specified minimum promoter contribution is locked in for 18 months after the issue. Promoter holdings above 20% of fully diluted post-issue equity capital are subject to a six-month lock-in from allotment.
The disclosed capital structure did not include instruments that could create further equity dilution at the Red Herring Prospectus date. The company reported no outstanding convertible securities, options or rights to convert debentures, loans or other instruments into equity shares. It also stated that none of the promoters’ shares were pledged and that all promoter holdings were in dematerialised, or electronic, form.
Conclusion
Vinay Gupta’s April 2023 sales placed 79.20 lakh shares with two current promoters and 39.60 lakh shares with two selling shareholders, while the September 2024 transfers lifted Vinay Gupta’s holding to 70.28 lakh shares. The resulting pre-offer structure combined Vinay Gupta’s 25.86% stake with four other promoters’ holdings for a 76.51% promoter total.
The next disclosed update to watch is the final prospectus’s post-offer shareholding table, since the Red Herring Prospectus left those figures blank. The stated lock-in plan is also relevant: qualifying minimum promoter contribution remains restricted for 18 months, while promoter holdings above 20% of fully diluted post-issue capital are restricted for six months from allotment.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
