Mr. Nirav Bharathbhai Patel faces Rs 26.28 crore reassessment
Nirav Patel, promoter, chairman and managing director of Vivekanand Cotspin Limited, is contesting three pending income-tax reassessment proceedings involving Rs 26.28 crore of alleged escaped income. The matters cover assessment years (AY) 2019-20 to 2021-22 and followed Dena Bank flags for suspicious high-value transactions in his bank account.
What are Nirav Patel's Rs 26.28 crore reassessment proceedings?
Nirav Patel faces three direct-tax proceedings initiated under the Income-tax Act, 1961, after orders under Section 148A(3) found each matter fit for a reassessment notice under Section 148. Section 148A(3) is the stage at which the assessing officer decides whether available information supports reopening an assessment, while a Section 148 notice starts the reassessment process. The prospectus says Nirav Patel submitted responses to the three notices and that all three proceedings remain pending.
The Rs 26.28 crore figure is the combined amount of income alleged to have escaped assessment, rather than a disclosed final tax demand, penalty or payment obligation. The litigation disclosure says the assessing officer relied on information investigated by the Income Tax Investigation Wing after Dena Bank flagged suspicious high-value transactions. The source does not disclose a reassessment order, tax computation, recovery notice, appeal, settlement or closure for any of the three assessment years.
Which assessment year represents the largest alleged escaped income?
AY 2020-21 represents the largest disclosed amount, at Rs 13.30 crore, compared with Rs 7.13 crore for AY 2019-20 and Rs 5.85 crore for AY 2021-22. The AY 2020-21 amount is slightly more than half of the Rs 26.28 crore aggregate across the three matters. Its Section 148A(3) order and Section 148 notice were both dated June 26, 2025.
The pattern changed over the three assessment years: the alleged amount increased by Rs 6.17 crore from AY 2019-20 to AY 2020-21, then declined by Rs 7.45 crore in AY 2021-22. Each year is disclosed as a separate proceeding, with its own order and notice, rather than as a single combined assessment. The prospectus provides no transaction-level values or tax rate, so the disclosed amounts cannot establish a final tax liability.
For AY 2019-20, the assessing officer alleged Rs 7.13 crore of income chargeable to tax had escaped assessment and issued a Section 148 notice on June 26, 2025. For AY 2021-22, the corresponding alleged amount was Rs 5.85 crore and the Section 148A(3) order and Section 148 notice were dated June 28, 2025. The AY 2021-22 entry contains a reference to AY 2020-21 in its concluding sentence, but the heading, alleged amount and notice details identify AY 2021-22 as the matter disclosed.
How did the bank-flagged transactions lead to reassessment notices?
The disclosed trigger was Dena Bank flagging suspicious high-value transactions in Nirav Patel's bank account, after which the Income Tax Investigation Wing investigated the information. Based on information available with the assessing officer, the Section 148A(3) orders dated June 26, 2025 for AY 2019-20 and AY 2020-21, and June 28, 2025 for AY 2021-22, said the cases were fit for Section 148 notices.
The prospectus does not identify the transactions, their dates, counterparties or the method used to arrive at the alleged escaped-income figures of Rs 7.13 crore, Rs 13.30 crore and Rs 5.85 crore. It also does not state that the bank information resulted in a finding of wrongdoing. The disclosed position is that the reassessment process is pending after Nirav Patel submitted responses to the notices.
A final payable amount would depend on the outcome of the pending reassessment process, which has not been provided in the prospectus. The source does not disclose an assessment order determining taxable income, a demand notice specifying tax due, recovery action, an appeal or a stay for these three cases. The distinction matters because Rs 26.28 crore measures alleged escaped income, not an amount stated as payable to the Income Tax Department.
How are Nirav Patel's matters different from Vivekanand Cotspin Limited's tax cases?
Nirav Patel's cases are personal direct-tax reassessments disclosed under litigation involving directors and promoters, whereas Vivekanand Cotspin Limited separately reports company and related-entity tax matters. The three proceedings specifically name Nirav Patel as the assessee. They are not presented as reassessments against Vivekanand Cotspin Limited.
Vivekanand Cotspin Limited reports an aggregate tax-deducted-at-source, or TDS, outstanding amount of Rs 1.24 lakh against Vivekanand Cotspin LLP through AY 2025-26, and Rs 1,608.41 against Vivekanand Cotspin Limited. TDS is tax collected through deduction at the time of specified payments. The disclosure attributes these entries to short payment, short deduction, related interest and late filing fees, which differs from the Section 148 reassessment mechanism applied to Nirav Patel.
Vivekanand Cotspin Limited also discloses a faceless-assessment intimation under Section 144B dated June 20, 2026, along with a Section 143(2) scrutiny notice dated the same day, both pending. Separately, Vivekanand Cotspin LLP has a goods and services tax, or GST, demand of Rs 54.37 lakh, for which it filed an appeal on January 28, 2026; the prospectus states that the demand is under a stay order. Neither company-related matter is included in Nirav Patel's Rs 26.28 crore alleged escaped-income total.
What does the prospectus disclose about materiality and regulatory status?
Vivekanand Cotspin Limited's board adopted its litigation materiality policy on April 20, 2026, and the policy treats all taxation matters involving the company, promoters, directors, group companies, key managerial personnel and senior managerial personnel as material. The policy also covers specified litigation exceeding the lowest of three financial thresholds. One threshold is 5% of the average absolute value of profit or loss after tax in the last three annual restated standalone financial statements.
The prospectus does not disclose the rupee result of the materiality calculation or state that Rs 26.28 crore is a final liability. It does state that neither Vivekanand Cotspin Limited, its promoters nor its directors had been declared wilful defaulters by the Reserve Bank of India or another government authority. It also says they had not been debarred by the Securities and Exchange Board of India from dealing in securities or accessing capital markets.
The same disclosure says no Securities and Exchange Board of India or stock-exchange disciplinary action that could have a material adverse effect had been taken against Vivekanand Cotspin Limited, its promoter or directors, and that none was known to be pending or threatened. Those regulatory-status statements concern different matters from the three Section 148 proceedings. They do not determine the outcome of the reassessments initiated in June 2025.
Conclusion
Nirav Patel's disclosed exposure consists of three pending reassessment proceedings over Rs 26.28 crore of alleged escaped income, not a stated final tax demand. AY 2020-21 is the largest component at Rs 13.30 crore, while AY 2019-20 and AY 2021-22 account for Rs 7.13 crore and Rs 5.85 crore respectively. The cases arose from bank-flagged transaction information investigated by the Income Tax Investigation Wing.
The next development to watch is any reassessment order after consideration of Nirav Patel's submitted responses, followed by any disclosed demand, recovery action, appeal or closure. The prospectus leaves unresolved the details of the transactions flagged by Dena Bank, the assessing officer's final conclusions and whether any amount will ultimately become payable.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
