RBI LRS Proposal: What the ₹50 Lakh Cap Could Mean
Why the RBI LRS proposal is being discussed
Reports of possible changes to the Reserve Bank of India's Liberalised Remittance Scheme, or LRS, have drawn attention across social media. The discussion centres on a reported proposal to tighten selected overseas remittances. A ₹50 lakh sub-limit on certain transactions is one of the measures being discussed. The stated objective is to manage dollar outflows and support foreign exchange reserves. The reports also point to proposed restrictions on foreign fixed deposits and other interest-earning accounts. Investors and travellers are trying to understand which uses could be affected. Education and medical expenses are reported to be outside the proposed sub-limit. Crucially, the material describes these measures as proposals and reported plans, not as a replacement of the existing LRS framework.
The current overall LRS limit
LRS permits a resident individual to remit up to $250,000 in a financial year. The facility covers permitted current-account transactions and certain capital-account transactions. It can be used for purposes including overseas education, medical treatment, private visits, gifts and donations. The supplied material also lists overseas portfolio investment and acquisition of immovable property abroad among permissible purposes. The $250,000 ceiling is available through the automatic route without prior RBI approval. LRS was introduced on February 4, 2004, with a limit of $25,000. The limit was subsequently set at $250,000 per financial year. The reported ₹50 lakh proposal should therefore not be read as a confirmed replacement for this overall annual limit.
What the reported ₹50 lakh sub-limit covers
The reported ₹50 lakh figure is described as a sub-limit within the broader $250,000 annual LRS limit. It is not presented as a universal cap on every LRS transaction. Business travel and pilgrimages may be brought within this sub-limit, according to sources cited in the reports. There is currently no sub-limit that applies universally to all LRS transactions in the supplied material. That distinction has become central to online discussion. A sub-limit would restrict only the transaction categories specified in revised rules. The final scope would depend on an official amendment or notification. Until then, it is not possible to treat every overseas remittance as subject to a ₹50 lakh cap.
Education and medical spending in focus
Education and medical expenses are likely to remain outside the proposed ₹50 lakh sub-limit, according to the cited sources. This reported exclusion is important for families using LRS for overseas study or treatment. LRS already permits remittances for overseas education and medical treatment. The material also notes a tax change connected with education remittances. Budget 2025 proposed removing TCS on education remittances funded through a loan from a specified financial institution. Such remittances currently attract TCS of 0.5%, according to the supplied context. The reported RBI sub-limit and the TCS treatment are separate matters. Users should distinguish between foreign-exchange permissions, any proposed transaction limit, and the tax collection rules that apply to a remittance.
Foreign fixed deposits face proposed curbs
Another reported change would prohibit the use of LRS for foreign fixed deposits. The proposal would also cover other interest-earning accounts held abroad. This has raised questions among individuals who use overseas accounts as part of their international financial arrangements. The context says legitimate overseas investments could continue under revised rules. However, it does not specify the exact range of investments that would remain available. It is therefore not accurate to conclude that all overseas investment through LRS would stop. The specific proposal is focused on foreign fixed deposits and other interest-earning accounts. Any final interpretation would require the text of a formal RBI amendment.
LRS, TCS and key thresholds
Outward remittances under LRS can be subject to tax collected at source, or TCS. Changes effective from April 1, 2025 apply across FY2026, according to the supplied material. The TCS threshold for relevant LRS remittances was raised to ₹10 lakh. Amounts above that threshold attract 20% TCS for overseas investments and other non-education or medical purposes. The Budget 2025 proposal also referred to an increase in the threshold from ₹7 lakh to ₹10 lakh. TCS is not itself a change to the LRS remittance ceiling. It is a tax-collection mechanism applicable to relevant remittances. The table below separates the reported RBI proposals from the rules and thresholds described in the context.
Other overseas investment limits matter
The LRS discussion comes alongside a separate industry-wide cap on mutual fund investments in overseas securities. The RBI has imposed a $7 billion cap for that category, according to the context. This cap should not be confused with an individual's $250,000 LRS entitlement. One is an industry-wide limit for mutual fund investments in overseas securities. The other is an annual remittance limit for an eligible resident individual. Separately, unused funds generally must be repatriated within 180 days from August 24, 2022. These layers of rules can make overseas transactions appear more complex than a single LRS headline suggests. The reported sub-limit would add another transaction-specific condition if it is formally introduced.
IFSC accounts and permitted LRS uses
The supplied material also describes wider access to foreign currency accounts at IFSCs such as GIFT City. Resident Indians can use such accounts under LRS for a wider range of permissible purposes. These include gifts to friends abroad, overseas property purchases, insurance, fixed deposits, education-loan payments and international travel. RBI said authorised persons may facilitate remittances for permissible LRS purposes to IFSCs. The notification also refers to current or capital-account transactions in other foreign jurisdictions through an IFSC foreign currency account. Earlier, these accounts were allowed for narrower purposes, including foreign securities at IFSCs and education fees to institutions there. The reported curbs on foreign fixed deposits should be assessed separately from this broader IFSC framework. The supplied material does not state how any proposed amendment would alter the IFSC permissions.
What remitters should watch next
The immediate issue is whether the reported proposals become formal rules. The material does not provide a notification announcing a new ₹50 lakh sub-limit. It instead attributes the plan to sources discussing an RBI proposal. People planning business travel, pilgrimages or foreign fixed deposits may therefore watch for official clarification on scope and timing. Those remitting for education or medical treatment should note the reported exclusion, while recognising that it remains part of a proposed framework. Overseas investors should also separate an interest-earning account restriction from permitted investments that may continue. The $250,000 annual LRS limit remains the benchmark described in the supplied context. Clear final rules would be needed to determine how any transaction-specific ceiling works alongside that benchmark. Until then, the strongest conclusion is that the discussion concerns potential targeted restrictions rather than a confirmed end to LRS flexibility.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker