Waaree Renewable Technologies Secures 291 MWp Solar EPC Order
Waaree Renewable Technologies Limited has received a domestic Letter of Award for EPC work on a 291 MWp ground-mounted solar photovoltaic project with a 280 MWh Battery Energy Storage System. The order, disclosed on August 28, 2026, is scheduled for completion during financial year 2027-28, although its value was not disclosed.
What order has Waaree Renewable Technologies received?
Waaree Renewable Technologies Limited received a Letter of Award, or LOA, from one of India’s thermal power generating companies for engineering, procurement and construction work on a solar and battery-storage project. After its first mention, Waaree Renewable Technologies Limited is referred to as WRTL.
The assignment covers a 291 MWp ground-mounted solar PV project and an associated 280 MWh Battery Energy Storage System, or BESS. WRTL disclosed the development under Regulation 30 of the SEBI Listing Regulations on August 28, 2026. The company classified it as a domestic commercial order.
The filing does not name the awarding thermal power generating company. It also does not disclose the project location, tariff, contract tenure, or monetary value. As a result, the capacity figures and execution schedule are the principal disclosed measures of the order’s scale.
What work will WRTL perform under the solar and BESS mandate?
WRTL will execute engineering, procurement and construction work for the combined solar and storage facility. The disclosed scope places both the 291 MWp solar PV plant and the 280 MWh BESS within the same EPC mandate.
Engineering work generally relates to the project design and technical configuration, while procurement covers equipment and material sourcing. Construction refers to the on-ground execution of the project infrastructure. The company’s filing, however, does not provide a detailed equipment list, operating arrangement, or operation and maintenance scope for this particular order.
The solar component is specified in megawatt peak, or MWp, which describes the peak direct-current capacity of the photovoltaic installation. The BESS component is specified in megawatt-hours, or MWh, which measures energy-storage capacity. These are different measures and should not be treated as directly comparable figures.
The disclosed project combines generation infrastructure with energy storage. The announcement does not state the expected energy output, battery duration, grid-connection details, or commissioning milestones. It also does not identify whether the system will serve a particular state, industrial site, or power market.
Why does the combined solar and storage scope matter for WRTL?
The combined scope matters because it gives WRTL responsibility for executing both a large ground-mounted solar project and a battery-storage system for the same customer order. This is distinct from a solar-only EPC assignment because the announced capacity includes a separate 280 MWh storage element.
The awarding entity is described as one of India’s thermal power generating companies. The filing does not provide further details about the company’s identity or its intended use of the project. Still, the order indicates that the client has awarded a renewable-energy and storage EPC mandate rather than a standalone solar project.
WRTL has disclosed other recent renewable-energy project wins in the supplied information. These include a 1,520 MWh BESS project and a 450 MWp ground-mounted solar project. The dates, counterparties, locations, and commercial terms for those wins are not stated in the available announcement context.
Separately, Reuters reported on May 18, 2026 that a WRTL unit had signed a turnkey contract for a 350 MW and 1,400 MWh BESS project, including two years of operation and maintenance services. The value and customer details for that order were not disclosed. That earlier disclosure provides context for WRTL’s stated activity in battery-storage execution, but it is separate from the 291 MWp solar and 280 MWh BESS LOA.
How could the order affect WRTL investors and project execution?
The order adds a disclosed solar-plus-storage EPC assignment to WRTL’s project pipeline, with completion planned during financial year 2027-28. For investors, the announcement provides capacity and timeline information but does not allow the financial contribution of the project to be calculated because WRTL has not disclosed the contract value.
The project’s execution will depend on the terms of the LOA and progress toward the stated FY2027-28 completion period. The available filing does not provide a start date, interim construction milestones, payment structure, margin guidance, or performance obligations. It therefore does not establish a quantified impact on revenue, profit, or order book.
The announcement was made under Regulation 30, which requires listed entities to disclose specified material events to the market. WRTL’s disclosure identifies the order as domestic and commercial, while withholding the customer’s name and financial consideration. Those undisclosed details limit comparisons with other EPC contracts.
For the broader industry, the order is a reported example of a thermal power generating company awarding a project that combines solar generation with battery storage. The disclosed facts do not indicate the client’s wider renewable-capacity plans, the project’s financing structure, or its effect on electricity supply in any specific region.
Conclusion
WRTL’s August 28 disclosure confirms a Letter of Award for EPC work covering 291 MWp of ground-mounted solar PV capacity and 280 MWh of battery storage. The order is material in operational scale based on the announced capacities, but its financial size cannot be assessed from the filing because no contract value has been provided.
The key item to watch is execution against the scheduled completion period in financial year 2027-28. Further disclosures on the project location, customer identity, commercial value, construction progress, or commissioning schedule would provide a clearer view of the order’s operational and financial significance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker