GPT Alcon acquisition brings Rs 480 crore signalling book
Key highlights
- Alcon’s approximately Rs 480 crore unexecuted signalling order book followed Rs 428 crore of new contract awards.
- GPT says Alcon generated approximately Rs 130 crore of FY26 revenue and can independently bid for contracts above Rs 200 crore.
- Management describes signalling EPC as an approximately 20% EBITDA-margin vertical.
- GPT reported consolidated H1 FY27 EBITDA of Rs 88.9 crore, up 16%, while revenue was broadly unchanged at Rs 593.5 crore.
powered by IRIS

GPT group’s February 2026 acquisition of Alcon gives GPT an approximately Rs 480 crore unexecuted signalling engineering, procurement and construction (EPC) order book, after Rs 428 crore in new contracts. Management says Alcon generated approximately Rs 130 crore in financial year 2026 (FY26) and positions signalling at approximately 20% earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation (EBITDA) margin.
Know GPT Infraprojects inside out
Results, valuation, peers and who's buying, in one view.
What does GPT gain from the Alcon acquisition?
GPT gains an entry into railway signalling EPC, adding technology-led rail work to its civil railway infrastructure activities. The presentation says Alcon broadens GPT’s participation across the railway value chain, while GPT’s infrastructure offerings include roads, bridges, railway tracks, steel bridges, metro rail projects and signalling.
Alcon was identified in the quarterly highlights as Alcon Builders and Engineers, a subsidiary acquired in February 2026. Management says the business generated approximately Rs 130 crore in FY26 and has the capability to independently bid for signalling contracts worth more than Rs 200 crore.
GPT says a proposed merger would enable Alcon to use GPT’s stronger net worth for larger signalling EPC contracts. The presentation does not disclose a merger timetable, consideration, ownership structure or approval status, but it describes the intended mechanism as greater capacity to participate in higher-value projects.
GPT’s existing infrastructure segment, which commenced in 2004, had an order book of Rs 4,521 crore as stated in the presentation. That base includes turnkey railway and riverine bridges, deep-pile foundations, heavy-duty airport pavements, elevated metro systems and light rail work.
How large is Alcon’s signalling order book?
Alcon has an approximately Rs 480 crore unexecuted order book that GPT describes as near-term executable and a historical high. The order book follows multiple signalling contract awards totalling Rs 428 crore, disclosed in the quarterly highlights.
The disclosed awards account for most of Alcon’s stated order book, although GPT does not provide individual project values, customer names, locations or contract execution dates. The presentation identifies the work as signalling contracts rather than separating equipment supply, installation, testing or commissioning components.
The Alcon platform sits alongside GPT’s other rail-related operations. GPT reported an infrastructure order book of Rs 4,521 crore and a sleeper-business order book of Rs 852 crore, both stated as current in the presentation.
Why does GPT say signalling EPC is difficult to enter?
GPT says railway signalling EPC has multiple entry barriers because contractors need approvals, technical qualifications, vendor compliance and an established delivery ecosystem. The presentation cites mandatory inclusion in approved contractor lists maintained by Railway Signal and Telecom departments across railway divisions and zones.
The stated requirements also include stringent vendor-registration standards, project-specific technical qualifications and historical-performance criteria. These conditions make eligibility dependent on documented compliance and prior experience as well as engineering capability.
GPT further identifies mandatory original equipment manufacturer (OEM) tie-ups for critical signalling components. It says the sector also requires specialised vendors, suppliers, installation teams and testing partners, while Alcon brings technical expertise, certifications and OEM linkages to GPT.
Management’s approximately 20% EBITDA-margin figure describes the signalling vertical rather than a separately disclosed Alcon profit-and-loss account. GPT does not provide Alcon’s EBITDA, order-book profitability or a revenue mix between equipment, installation and testing work in the presentation.
Got a follow-up? Ask IRIS
How does signalling compare with GPT’s current financial profile?
Management describes signalling EPC as having superior profitability to conventional civil or infrastructure EPC, while GPT’s consolidated EBITDA margin rose to 15.0% in the first half (H1) of FY27 from 12.9% in H1 FY26. The approximately 20% signalling figure is not directly comparable with reported consolidated results because GPT does not disclose Alcon’s standalone margin.
Consolidated revenue was broadly unchanged at Rs 593.5 crore in H1 FY27, while EBITDA increased by Rs 12.3 crore. The EBITDA margin increased by 2.1 percentage points, but profit after tax declined by Rs 2.4 crore to Rs 42.9 crore.
GPT’s standalone H1 FY27 revenue was Rs 556.8 crore, down 4% from Rs 579.2 crore in H1 FY26. Standalone EBITDA rose 13% to Rs 82.9 crore and the margin rose to 14.9% from 12.6%, providing context for management’s focus on the signalling business but not establishing an acquisition-related earnings contribution.
What signalling opportunity does GPT identify?
GPT identifies an Indian Railways planned outlay of approximately Rs 1 lakh crore over six years as the demand backdrop for signalling EPC. The presentation names Kavach and electronic interlocking among the technology initiatives associated with the opportunity.
Management says the acquisition complements GPT’s relationship of more than 40 years with Indian Railways. It also calls Alcon a ready platform with an experienced technical workforce and pre-established ecosystem, rather than a business GPT would need to build organically.
The group’s wider rail platform includes a sleeper business with an Rs 852 crore order book and annual capacity of 14.50 lakh units. Its facilities are located in Panagarh, South Africa, Namibia and Ghana, while the steel-girder manufacturing facility in Hooghly has initial capacity of 10,000 metric tonnes per annum that is being enhanced to 15,000 metric tonnes per annum.
Near-term execution remains relevant because GPT said H1 FY27 project activity was temporarily moderated by the April-May West Bengal election period and extended monsoon conditions. The company said workforce availability had since normalised, supporting a gradual recovery in execution.
Conclusion
The acquisition gives GPT a qualified signalling EPC platform with approximately Rs 480 crore of unexecuted work, recent contract awards of Rs 428 crore and an independently bid-capable business that management says operates in an approximately 20% EBITDA-margin vertical. It extends GPT’s rail exposure beyond civil infrastructure and sleepers into a technology-led activity with stated qualification and supplier barriers.
The next factors to watch are execution of Alcon’s near-term order book, progress on the proposed merger intended to support larger bids, and developments in the planned Rs 1 lakh crore Indian Railways outlay over six years. GPT has not disclosed Alcon’s standalone profitability or the merger timetable, while its H1 FY27 update indicates that project execution was recovering after election-period and monsoon disruption.


