VANS Electroengineerings Limited’s Insider Loans Exceed Bank Debt
Ask Iris
VANS Electroengineerings reported Rs 1.95 crore of unsecured business loans from Nitin Jain, Abhishek Sarraff and Hotspot Infodot Private Limited at March 31, 2026, exceeding its Rs 59.89 lakh HDFC Bank cash-credit balance. Each unsecured loan was Rs 65 lakh, carried 10% annual interest and was repayable on demand.
Why do VANS Electroengineerings’ insider loans exceed its bank debt?
VANS Electroengineerings’ unsecured loans were about 3.26 times its Rs 59.89 lakh secured bank borrowing on March 31, 2026. The difference arose because the company had three equally sized unsecured business loans of Rs 65 lakh each, while its HDFC Bank cash-credit facility had an outstanding balance below its Rs 1 crore sanctioned limit.
Nitin Jain and Abhishek Sarraff each provided Rs 65 lakh, while Hotspot Infodot Private Limited provided the third Rs 65 lakh loan. The company’s management discussion identifies Nitin Jain and Abhishek Saraf as promoters and non-executive directors. The indebtedness schedule does not state a sanctioned amount for any of the three unsecured loans, whereas it specifies a Rs 1 crore sanction for the HDFC Bank cash-credit facility.
The concentration is complete within the disclosed unsecured schedule: each lender accounted for one-third of the Rs 1.95 crore total. This funding dependence would continue if the three lenders retain their on-demand loans or replace them following repayment requests, because the schedule does not disclose a fixed maturity, instalment plan or committed sanctioned limit for the unsecured loans.
What are the terms of VANS Electroengineerings’ unsecured insider financing?
VANS Electroengineerings’ three unsecured business loans carried a stated interest rate of 10% a year and were repayable on demand as of March 31, 2026. On demand means the stated repayment schedule does not specify a future instalment date, so continued funding depends on lenders not requesting repayment.
The three loans had identical disclosed principal terms despite being from separate lenders: Rs 65 lakh outstanding, 10% annual interest and business-loan purpose. The Rs 1.95 crore unsecured total was therefore not made up of differing debt products, such as term loans with separate stated maturities or loans carrying different interest rates.
The indebtedness statement classifies these borrowings as unsecured loans and does not list primary or collateral security for them. In contrast, VANS Electroengineerings’ HDFC Bank facility was secured by hypothecation, a charge over present and future stock and book debts, alongside a Credit Guarantee Fund Trust for Micro and Small Enterprises, or CGTMSE, guarantee and a lien on fixed deposits.
How does the HDFC Bank facility differ from the unsecured loans?
VANS Electroengineerings’ HDFC Bank cash-credit borrowing carried 8.06% annual interest, compared with 10% for each disclosed unsecured loan, and had Rs 59.89 lakh outstanding on March 31, 2026. Cash credit is a working-capital bank facility, and the Rs 1 crore sanctioned amount meant Rs 40.11 lakh of the stated limit was undrawn at that date.
The HDFC Bank facility was also repayable on demand, so demand repayment was not unique to unsecured financing. The principal disclosed differences were the lender and security arrangements: HDFC Bank held a charge over inventory and receivables plus collateral support, while the three business loans were reported as unsecured.
Hotspot Infodot Private Limited appears in two roles in the HDFC Bank disclosure. It was a Rs 65 lakh unsecured lender to VANS Electroengineerings and was also among six parties listed under personal guarantees for the HDFC Bank credit facilities. The other listed parties were Srinivasan Balakrishnan, Abhishek Sarraff, Subhash Chandra Sarraff, Nitin Jain and Ashok Jain.
What does the borrowing mix mean alongside VANS Electroengineerings’ results?
VANS Electroengineerings’ disclosed fund-based debt was Rs 2.55 crore at March 31, 2026, comprising Rs 1.95 crore of unsecured loans and Rs 59.89 lakh of secured borrowing. Unsecured loans represented about 76.5% of the disclosed fund-based total, while the HDFC Bank cash-credit balance represented about 23.5%.
The March 31, 2026 debt balance can be compared with FY 2025-26 results. VANS Electroengineerings reported Rs 22.84 crore of revenue from operations, Rs 7.23 crore of earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation, or EBITDA, and Rs 5.39 crore of profit after tax for the year ended March 31, 2026. The Rs 2.55 crore debt total was smaller than reported profit after tax, although that comparison does not establish cash available for loan repayment.
Results increased from FY 2024-25, when revenue from operations was Rs 13.56 crore, EBITDA was Rs 2.48 crore and profit after tax was Rs 1.73 crore. Finance cost declined to Rs 23.13 lakh in FY 2025-26 from Rs 35.01 lakh in FY 2024-25, but the indebtedness statement supplies only the March 31, 2026 loan-by-loan position and no comparable earlier debt schedule.
Which disclosures limit assessment of this financing dependence?
VANS Electroengineerings stated that balances of trade receivables, trade payables, borrowings, loans and advances, and deposits were subject to confirmation during the restatement period. The indebtedness statement therefore reports outstanding amounts at March 31, 2026 while the company separately flags confirmation of borrowing and other balance-sheet categories.
The company also stated that it had not used borrowings from banks and financial institutions for purposes other than those for which they were taken during the restatement period. That statement addresses bank and financial-institution borrowings, but the supplied disclosure does not provide a detailed use-of-proceeds schedule for the Rs 1.95 crore of unsecured business loans.
No non-fund-based secured borrowing was outstanding at March 31, 2026, although the HDFC Bank schedule included a bank-guarantee line. A bank guarantee is non-fund-based because the bank provides an undertaking rather than disbursing a loan balance, and the schedule recorded nil outstanding under that category.
Conclusion
VANS Electroengineerings’ March 31, 2026 borrowing structure was led by Rs 1.95 crore of three equal unsecured business loans rather than its Rs 59.89 lakh drawn HDFC Bank cash-credit balance. The key feature was not only total fund-based debt of Rs 2.55 crore, but also that about three-quarters came from two named promoter lenders and Hotspot Infodot Private Limited on 10% on-demand terms.
The next disclosed point to watch is whether VANS Electroengineerings reports repayment, renewal or replacement of the three Rs 65 lakh on-demand loans, as no fixed maturity or sanctioned amount is listed for them. Any later confirmation of borrowing balances also matters because the company stated that borrowings and other balance-sheet categories were subject to confirmation during the restatement period.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q1 Earnings Tracker
