Reliance Industries Limited cleared of fraud, disclosure breach remains
Ask Iris
Reliance Industries Limited was cleared by the Supreme Court of India on May 29, 2026 of fraud under the PFUTP Regulations in its 2007 Reliance Petroleum Limited derivatives matter. The Court set aside the fraud findings that had accompanied a Rs 447.3 crore disgorgement direction, but retained RIL’s liability for position-limit disclosure breaches under 2001 SEBI and NSE circulars.
How did the Supreme Court change RIL’s fraud case?
The Supreme Court changed RIL’s case by holding that fraud was not established under the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Prohibition of Fraudulent and Unfair Trade Practices relating to Securities Market) Regulations, 2003, known as the PFUTP Regulations. In its May 29, 2026 order, the Court disposed of two RIL appeals concerning trading in Reliance Petroleum Limited, then an RIL subsidiary, during 2007.
The Court held that the Securities Appellate Tribunal, or SAT, made an “egregious error” in its majority ruling on fraud under Regulations 3 and 4 of the PFUTP Regulations. It set aside the SAT judgment and order insofar as they concerned the fraud finding. The prospectus describes the outcome as a reversal of the fraud conclusion, rather than a finding that the 2007 trades complied with every applicable market requirement.
The Supreme Court retained one category of liability. It held that RIL had violated disclosure requirements concerning position limits under a 2001 Securities and Exchange Board of India, or SEBI, circular, and was liable to be penalised under that circular and a 2001 National Stock Exchange, or NSE, circular. A position limit is a prescribed ceiling on derivatives exposure; the surviving breach concerns required disclosure in relation to that limit.
What did SEBI’s original 2017 order require RIL to pay?
SEBI’s whole-time member found on March 24, 2017 that RIL had acted fraudulently while dealing in Reliance Petroleum Limited shares. The order said RIL had breached Section 12A of the SEBI Act and Regulations 3 and 4 of the PFUTP Regulations, and it also cited a November 2, 2001 SEBI circular and a November 7, 2001 NSE circular.
The March 2017 order imposed two principal consequences. It prohibited RIL from dealing in equity derivatives in the futures and options segment, directly or indirectly, for one year from the order date. It also directed RIL to disgorge Rs 447.3 crore, with interest at 12% a year from November 29, 2007 until payment. Disgorgement is a regulatory direction to surrender an amount connected with conduct found unlawful.
SAT dismissed RIL’s appeal by a 2:1 majority on November 5, 2020 and directed payment of the disgorged amount within 60 days. After admitting RIL’s appeal, the Supreme Court directed RIL on December 17, 2020 to deposit Rs 250 crore in the Investors’ Protection Fund, subject to the appeal’s final result, while staying recovery of the balance including interest. The prospectus states that RIL complied with the deposit direction.
Why does RIL remain liable for a disclosure-rule breach?
RIL remains liable because the Supreme Court treated the position-limit disclosure requirement as distinct from fraud under the PFUTP Regulations. The May 29, 2026 order held that RIL had “only” violated the disclosure requirements under the 2001 SEBI circular in respect of position limits. The Court also concurred with SAT’s observations regarding the penalty levied for that breach.
This distinction changes the legal basis of the matter. SEBI’s March 2017 order had treated the 2007 conduct as fraudulent and as a breach of the 2001 circulars. The Supreme Court removed the PFUTP fraud conclusion, while preserving a liability arising from circular-based disclosure requirements and the linked NSE circular. The prospectus does not quantify a revised penalty specifically attributable to the surviving disclosure breach.
A separate SEBI adjudicating officer order dated January 1, 2021 had imposed a Rs 25 crore penalty on RIL. That order described RIL’s Reliance Petroleum Limited trades as manipulative or deceptive and prima facie covered by the PFUTP definition of fraud. SAT did not interfere with the order on December 4, 2023 because it considered the issue covered by its November 5, 2020 decision.
RIL appealed the December 4, 2023 SAT order to the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court tagged that appeal with RIL’s appeal from the main SAT decision and heard both matters before disposing of them on May 29, 2026. The prospectus records the Court’s concurrence with SAT on the disclosure-related penalty, but does not state how the Rs 25 crore adjudicating-officer penalty is allocated between the fraud allegations and the surviving circular breach.
What does the May 2026 order leave unspecified?
The May 2026 order leaves the administrative and monetary implementation of the surviving disclosure liability unspecified in the prospectus. Although the Supreme Court set aside the SAT findings on fraud and held that RIL was liable under the 2001 SEBI and NSE circulars, the disclosure does not provide a recalculated payment amount, payment deadline or further proceeding in this derivatives matter.
The prospectus also does not state the eventual treatment of the Rs 250 crore deposited in the Investors’ Protection Fund under the December 17, 2020 interim order. That deposit was expressly subject to the final outcome of RIL’s appeal. The absence of a disclosed post-disposal direction means the available record establishes the legal finding but not the subsequent transfer, refund or adjustment of the deposited amount.
The result differs materially from the position after the March 24, 2017 SEBI order and the November 5, 2020 SAT majority decision. At those stages, RIL faced a fraud finding, a one-year restriction on dealing in equity derivatives, and a Rs 447.3 crore disgorgement direction with 12% annual interest from November 29, 2007. After May 29, 2026, the disclosed liability is limited to the position-limit disclosure breach.
The ruling is separate from another SEBI proceeding disclosed for RIL. In that matter, SEBI imposed a Rs 30 lakh penalty on June 20, 2022 for an alleged breach of fair-disclosure requirements under the SEBI insider-trading regulations. SAT dismissed RIL’s appeal on May 2, 2025, and the Supreme Court dismissed RIL’s subsequent appeal on December 2, 2025; that matter does not change the Reliance Petroleum Limited derivatives ruling.
Conclusion
The combined effect of the May 29, 2026 Supreme Court decision is that RIL no longer has a fraud finding under the PFUTP Regulations in the 2007 Reliance Petroleum Limited derivatives matter. The Court rejected the basis on which SEBI and SAT had treated the trades as fraudulent, while retaining a narrower liability for non-compliance with position-limit disclosure requirements under the 2001 SEBI and NSE circulars.
The next development to watch is the implementation of the remaining circular-based penalty and the treatment of the Rs 250 crore deposited in the Investors’ Protection Fund in December 2020. The prospectus discloses no recalculated amount, payment timetable or direction concerning that deposit after the Supreme Court’s May 2026 disposal, leaving those consequences unresolved in the disclosed record.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did your stocks survive the war?
See what broke. See what stood.
Live Q2 Earnings Tracker