Ashoka Buildcon L1 for Rs 865.90 crore NHAI balance work
Key highlights
- Ashoka Buildcon was declared L1 for an Rs 865.90 crore NHAI EPC quotation excluding GST.
- Package IX covers 26.6 km from km 128.0 to km 154.6 of the Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway.
- Ashoka Buildcon disclosed an 18-month execution period for the project.
- The EPC package includes a 10-year defect-liability period.
powered by IRIS

Ashoka Buildcon Limited has been declared L1, or lowest bidder, for an Rs 865.90 crore National Highways Authority of India balance-work package on 26.6 km of the Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway in Gujarat. The quoted engineering, procurement and construction price excludes goods and services tax, with execution scheduled over 18 months and a 10-year defect-liability period.
Know Ashoka Buildcon inside out
Results, valuation, peers and who's buying, in one view.
What has Ashoka Buildcon been declared lowest bidder for?
Ashoka Buildcon has been declared L1 for National Highways Authority of India, or NHAI, Package IX, with a quoted engineering, procurement and construction, or EPC, price of Rs 865.90 crore excluding GST. The company said it submitted a bid for the NHAI project and was subsequently declared the lowest bidder.
The filing identifies NHAI as the awarding entity and classifies it as a domestic entity. It describes the assignment as balance work for an expressway section, rather than a new corridor project, and specifies EPC mode as the contractual mechanism for the Rs 865.90 crore quotation.
Ashoka Buildcon's disclosure establishes its L1 position in the tender process for Package IX. The announcement does not disclose a letter of acceptance, contract-signing date, mobilisation date or date from which the 18-month execution period would begin.
What Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway section would Ashoka Buildcon build?
Ashoka Buildcon's disclosed scope is balance work for an eight-lane access-controlled expressway from km 128.0 to km 154.6 of the Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway. The identified stretch is the Karvad-to-Jujuwa section in Gujarat and spans 26.6 km based on the stated chainages.
The project is described as a request for proposal for construction under Package IX on EPC mode. Under the filing's terms, the work combines engineering, procurement and construction responsibilities, with the execution period set at 18 months.
The announcement provides fixed starting and ending chainages for the 26.6-km section but does not disclose lane-wise quantities, bridge or structure specifications, traffic estimates, or a cost breakup within the Rs 865.90 crore EPC quotation. It also does not identify construction milestones within the 18-month period.
What are the commercial terms of the NHAI package?
The disclosed terms are an Rs 865.90 crore EPC price excluding GST, an 18-month execution period and a 10-year defect-liability period. NHAI is named as the domestic awarding authority for the eight-lane Package IX balance-work assignment.
The quoted price is specifically an EPC price and is not stated as an all-tax-inclusive contract value because GST is excluded. The filing does not provide payment milestones, performance-security requirements, price-escalation terms, liquidated damages provisions or financing arrangements for the Rs 865.90 crore project.
The 10-year defect-liability period is separately identified as a significant project condition. Ashoka Buildcon does not disclose the scope of remedial obligations, the date on which this period starts, or the process for determining defects during the stated 10 years.
The annexure marks as not applicable both promoter or promoter-group interest in NHAI and related-party transaction treatment for the project. On the information disclosed, the Rs 865.90 crore opportunity is presented as a domestic NHAI procurement rather than a related-party arrangement.
Got a follow-up? Ask IRIS
How does the 18-month schedule compare with the 10-year liability period?
The disclosed 18-month execution period is shorter than the 10-year defect-liability period by 8.5 years. The filing therefore sets out a construction timeline of one and a half years alongside a separate post-construction liability term of 10 years.
The two periods have distinct roles in the stated Package IX terms. The 18 months is the period by which the order or contract is to be executed, while 10 years is the defect-liability period applicable to the EPC-mode project.
Ashoka Buildcon has not stated whether the 10-year period begins at physical completion, provisional completion, handover or another project milestone. It also has not disclosed whether the 18-month execution window includes any approval, utility-shifting or mobilisation period.
The difference between the two timelines is relevant to the disclosed project structure rather than a measure of project completion. NHAI's tendered scope covers 26.6 km between km 128.0 and km 154.6, but the filing gives no periodic construction or maintenance milestones for that stretch.
What has Ashoka Buildcon disclosed about award and next steps?
Ashoka Buildcon has disclosed an L1 declaration but has not disclosed a final award, executed agreement or project start date for Package IX. The available terms remain the Rs 865.90 crore GST-exclusive quotation, 18-month execution period and 10-year defect-liability period.
The company made its disclosure under Regulation 30 of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements) Regulations, 2015. It also cited Master Circular No. HO/49/14/14(7)2025-CFD-POD2/I/3762/2026 dated January 30, 2026 for the project details supplied in the annexure.
The filing identifies NHAI as the authority awarding the domestic project but does not set out NHAI's final acceptance procedure. It similarly does not disclose when Ashoka Buildcon may receive a formal work order, if any, or when the stated 18-month execution term may commence.
The immediate disclosed facts are limited to the bid result and tender terms for Package IX. No revenue-recognition schedule, construction funding plan, contract completion date or milestone-based billing plan accompanies the Rs 865.90 crore L1 announcement.
Conclusion
Ashoka Buildcon's disclosed L1 position concerns an Rs 865.90 crore GST-exclusive EPC quotation for 26.6 km of eight-lane, access-controlled balance work on the Vadodara-Mumbai Expressway in Gujarat. The project pairs an 18-month execution requirement with a separately disclosed 10-year defect-liability period.
The next development to watch is whether the L1 position progresses to a disclosed formal award or contract, as neither is reported in the filing. If NHAI proceeds on the announced terms, the relevant disclosed milestones will be the start of the 18-month execution period and the operation of the 10-year defect-liability requirement.


