RattanIndia Power reports 85% Amravati PLF during H1 FY27
Key highlights
- RattanIndia Power’s Amravati plant reported 85% PLF and 91% availability in H1 FY27.
- RattanIndia Power has 1,200 MW contracted under a PPA with Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd.
- RattanIndia Power has an annual FSA for 6.10 MMT of coal with South Eastern Coalfields Limited.
- RattanIndia Power reported Rs 1,654 crore of consolidated total income and Rs 84 crore of profit after tax in H1 FY27.
powered by IRIS

RattanIndia Power reported an 85% plant load factor at its 1,350-megawatt (MW) Amravati plant in H1 FY27, alongside 91% availability, supported by 1,200 MW contracted under a power purchase agreement (PPA) and 6.10 million metric tonnes (MMT) of annual coal under a fuel supply agreement (FSA).
Know RattanIndia Enterprises inside out
Results, valuation, peers and who's buying, in one view.
How did RattanIndia Power’s Amravati plant perform in H1 FY27?
RattanIndia Power’s Amravati plant delivered 85% plant load factor (PLF) and 91% availability in H1 FY27. The presentation describes the 91% availability level as the best in Maharashtra and says the plant ranked among the state’s top thermal plants during the half year.
Availability exceeded PLF by 6 percentage points in H1 FY27, showing the difference between the two reported operating measures. RattanIndia Power attributes the plant’s utilisation to its position in the merit order dispatch (MOD) stack and to secured raw-material linkages, while describing the Amravati asset as fully functional and profitable.
The Amravati plant has 1,350 MW of installed capacity in five units of 270 MW each and was commercially commissioned in March 2015. RattanIndia Power states annual generation capacity of 11,826 million units (MUs), placing the H1 FY27 PLF and availability figures against a five-unit thermal generation platform.
How much of RattanIndia Power’s capacity is contracted under a PPA?
RattanIndia Power has 1,200 MW contracted under a PPA with Maharashtra State Electricity Distribution Company Ltd (MSEDCL). The presentation identifies MSEDCL as Maharashtra’s principal power distributor and says the PPA provides long-term, stable offtake for the Amravati plant.
The 1,200 MW contracted volume compares with total installed capacity of 1,350 MW, while an additional 42 MW is sold in the open market at merchant rates. The sales channels differ: the PPA covers contracted offtake, whereas the 42 MW is exposed to merchant-market pricing. RattanIndia Power says the PPA provides revenue visibility and reduces exposure to spot-market volatility.
RattanIndia Power also reported Rs 16.94 crore of power-exchange revenue from selling 20.26 MUs in H1 FY27. The presentation says this revenue was generated over and above PPA earnings, distinguishing exchange transactions from its contracted sales arrangement.
What financial results did RattanIndia Power report in H1 FY27?
RattanIndia Power reported consolidated total income of Rs 1,654 crore and consolidated profit after tax of Rs 84 crore for H1 FY27. In the same period, its Amravati plant recorded 85% PLF and 91% availability, while power-exchange sales of 20.26 MUs produced Rs 16.94 crore in revenue.
Power-exchange revenue was a small separately disclosed stream compared with consolidated total income: Rs 16.94 crore against Rs 1,654 crore. The presentation does not give the revenue attributable specifically to the 1,200 MW PPA, the 42 MW of merchant sales, or individual generating units.
RattanIndia Power says CRISIL upgraded the rating on its short-term bank facilities to CRISIL A2 from CRISIL A3+. The cited pages do not state the date of the rating action or the value of the facilities covered, so the presentation does not provide a direct financial comparison between the rating action and H1 FY27 income or profit.
Got a follow-up? Ask IRIS
What coal, rail and water arrangements support RattanIndia Power’s plant?
RattanIndia Power has an FSA with South Eastern Coalfields Limited (SECL) for 6.10 MMT of coal annually. SECL is a subsidiary of Coal India Ltd, according to the presentation, and RattanIndia Power says the linkage is intended to support supply reliability and cost predictability.
Coal logistics are supported by a dedicated 35-kilometre railway siding from Walgaon station to the plant. RattanIndia Power says the private siding enables bulk coal transport and reduces dependence on road freight, pairing annual contracted coal supply of 6.10 MMT with a direct rail connection.
The plant also has a government allocation of 60 million cubic metres (MCM) of water from Upper Wardha Dam in Maharashtra’s Vidarbha region. RattanIndia Power says the allocation supports cooling requirements for all five 270 MW units and provides water security for plant operations.
The presentation characterises the coal agreement, rail siding and water allocation as a secured supply ecosystem around the 1,350 MW asset. It does not disclose an expiry date for the 6.10 MMT FSA, a tenure for the 1,200 MW PPA, or an expiry date for the 60 MCM water allocation.
What does RattanIndia Power disclose about the Amravati asset’s operating position?
RattanIndia Power presents the Amravati asset as a scaled thermal power platform with 1,350 MW of installed capacity, 11,826 MUs of annual generation capacity and a March 2015 commercial commissioning date. Its H1 FY27 operating update combines 85% PLF and 91% availability with contracted offtake and input supply arrangements.
The operational comparison is between the plant’s 1,200 MW contracted PPA channel and its additional 42 MW merchant-sales channel. The presentation says the former provides long-term off-take visibility, while the latter generated power-exchange revenue of Rs 16.94 crore from 20.26 MUs sold in H1 FY27.
RattanIndia Power’s presentation also refers to a strategic 20% stake that cements an associate partnership. The cited pages do not identify a transaction date, consideration, or additional terms for that stake, so its effect on the reported Rs 1,654 crore consolidated income and Rs 84 crore profit after tax is not specified.
Conclusion
RattanIndia Power’s H1 FY27 disclosure links 85% PLF and 91% availability at its 1,350 MW Amravati plant with a 1,200 MW PPA, 6.10 MMT of annual coal supply, a 35-kilometre rail siding and 60 MCM of allocated water. It also reported Rs 1,654 crore in consolidated total income, Rs 84 crore in profit after tax and Rs 16.94 crore of power-exchange revenue from 20.26 MUs.
The next disclosures to watch are updates on operating delivery against the H1 FY27 85% PLF and 91% availability figures, as well as any detail on the undisclosed tenure of the 1,200 MW PPA, 6.10 MMT coal agreement and 60 MCM water allocation. The cited presentation provides no future PLF target or scheduled operating milestone.


