GKSSL H1 FY27 volumes reached 82%-83% of FY26 annual levels
Key highlights
- GKSSL recorded 78,643 OPD visits in H1 FY27, equal to 82% of FY26’s 95,876 visits.
- GKSSL recorded 11,040 IPD admissions in H1 FY27, equal to 83% of FY26’s 13,281 admissions.
- H1 FY27 average bed-day occupancy was 55%, compared with 56% in FY26.
- H1 FY27 OPD and IPD revenue totalled Rs 76.63 crore, compared with Rs 59.32 crore in FY26.
powered by IRIS

GKSSL’s H1 FY27 outpatient and inpatient volumes reached 82% and 83%, respectively, of FY26 annual totals, with 78,643 OPD visits and 11,040 IPD admissions. Revenue across the two settings was Rs 76.63 crore, while average bed-day occupancy was 55%, one percentage point below FY26’s 56%.
Know Gujarat Kidney & Super Speciality inside out
Results, valuation, peers and who's buying, in one view.
How much patient activity did GKSSL record in H1 FY27?
GKSSL recorded 78,643 outpatient department, or OPD, visits and 11,040 inpatient department, or IPD, admissions in H1 FY27. The OPD figure was 82% of FY26’s 95,876 visits, while IPD admissions were 83% of FY26’s 13,281 admissions. The H1 FY27 data therefore placed both volume measures at more than four-fifths of the preceding full-year totals.
The reported increase has been significant across the periods shown in the presentation. OPD volume rose from 1,533 in FY24 to 38,492 in FY25 and 95,876 in FY26. IPD volume increased from 489 in FY24 to 5,704 in FY25 and 13,281 in FY26. H1 FY27 alone exceeded FY25’s full-year count by 40,151 OPD visits and 5,336 IPD admissions.
The relationship between outpatient and inpatient activity also changed in scale rather than direction. H1 FY27 IPD admissions of 11,040 were 14% of OPD visits of 78,643, compared with 14% in FY26, when 13,281 admissions were reported alongside 95,876 OPD visits. The presentation does not provide a stated explanation for the volume growth or for the mix between the two settings.
Did GKSSL’s reported patient revenue increase in H1 FY27?
Yes, GKSSL reported Rs 15.55 crore of OPD revenue and Rs 61.08 crore of IPD revenue in H1 FY27, for a combined Rs 76.63 crore. This exceeded the FY26 combined total of Rs 59.32 crore, comprising Rs 11.79 crore from OPD services and Rs 47.53 crore from IPD services.
OPD revenue in H1 FY27 was about 32% above the FY26 full-year figure even though H1 OPD volume was 18% below the FY26 annual count. IPD revenue was about 29% above the FY26 full-year figure, while H1 IPD admissions were 17% below FY26’s total. The presentation reports revenue and volume data but does not identify pricing, procedure mix or other factors behind the different growth rates.
The period comparison also shows the growing weight of inpatient revenue. IPD services accounted for Rs 61.08 crore, or about 80% of the Rs 76.63 crore combined H1 FY27 revenue reported for OPD and IPD. In FY26, IPD revenue of Rs 47.53 crore accounted for about 80% of the Rs 59.32 crore total. This mix was broadly unchanged between the two periods despite the rise in reported revenue.
Has GKSSL increased hospital-bed utilisation?
No, GKSSL reported an average bed-day occupancy rate of 55% in H1 FY27, compared with 56% in FY26. The H1 FY27 rate was one percentage point above the 54% recorded in both FY24 and FY25, but it did not sustain the FY26 level.
Bed days occupied reached 66,240 in H1 FY27, equal to 83% of FY26’s 79,686 occupied bed days. That proportion matched the 83% relationship between H1 FY27 IPD admissions and FY26 admissions. The data show that occupied bed days and admissions moved in close alignment during the periods compared.
At the same time, the reported occupancy rate indicates that utilisation did not rise in proportion to the increase in absolute patient activity. H1 FY27 had 66,240 occupied bed days at a 55% average rate, compared with FY26’s 79,686 occupied bed days at 56%. The presentation does not disclose total installed beds or available bed days, so it does not provide a direct capacity figure for the network.
Got a follow-up? Ask IRIS
What does the six-day average stay show about inpatient activity?
GKSSL reported an average length of stay of 6.00 days in every period from FY24 through H1 FY27. The unchanged measure coincided with IPD admissions rising from 489 in FY24 to 13,281 in FY26 and reaching 11,040 in H1 FY27.
The disclosed H1 FY27 measures are arithmetically aligned: 11,040 IPD admissions multiplied by a 6.00-day average stay equal 66,240 occupied bed days. FY26 similarly reported 13,281 admissions, a 6.00-day average stay and 79,686 occupied bed days. Based on these metrics, the change in occupied bed days followed admissions rather than a disclosed change in stay duration.
This pattern differs from a situation in which occupied bed days rise mainly because patients remain admitted for longer. In GKSSL’s data, average stay remained at 6.00 days in FY24, FY25, FY26 and H1 FY27, while occupied bed days increased from 67,428 in FY24 to 79,686 in FY26. The presentation does not disclose the clinical specialties or patient categories underlying the stable duration.
How did revenue per occupied bed day change in H1 FY27?
GKSSL reported average revenue per occupied bed day of Rs 9,221 in H1 FY27, down from Rs 10,255 in FY26. The H1 FY27 measure was also lower than Rs 9,417 in FY25 and Rs 9,305 in FY24.
The decline from FY26 was Rs 1,034 per occupied bed day, even as reported IPD revenue increased to Rs 61.08 crore in H1 FY27 from Rs 47.53 crore in FY26. H1 FY27 occupied bed days of 66,240, combined with the reported Rs 9,221 average revenue per occupied bed day, correspond with the disclosed IPD revenue measure. The presentation does not explain the reduction in revenue per occupied bed day.
Management says it is planning to deploy advanced medical equipment, including a Stryker orthopaedic robot, to enhance clinical precision, case mix and revenue per occupied bed. It is also implementing group-wide purchasing and exploring tie-ups with small nursing homes for diagnostic, operative and staffing support. The presentation provides no dates or numerical targets for these initiatives.
Conclusion
GKSSL’s H1 FY27 operating data show volumes approaching FY26 annual levels, with 78,643 OPD visits, 11,040 IPD admissions and 66,240 occupied bed days. Revenue of Rs 76.63 crore exceeded the FY26 OPD and IPD total, but occupancy was 55% versus 56% in FY26, while the average stay remained fixed at 6.00 days.
What to watch next is the effect of management’s procurement, technology and specialty plans on the Rs 9,221 revenue per occupied bed day and the 55% occupancy rate. Management also plans to strengthen urology, nephrology, interventional cardiology and oncology, and to upgrade Raj Palmland Hospital, Surya Hospital & ICU and Ashwini Medical Centre, although the presentation gives no completion dates or operating targets.


