Ramkrishna Forgings Limited targets December wheel production
Key highlights
- Ramkrishna Forgings' first 300 railway wheels were under railway inspection during the November Q2 FY26 call.
- Ramkrishna Forgings expects December production of 2,000 to 3,000 railway wheels.
- Management targets fourth-quarter output of 4,000 to 5,000 wheels a month, or about 80% of capacity.
- Ramkrishna Forgings expects FY26 railway-wheel supplies of 20,000 to 25,000 wheels.
powered by IRIS

Ramkrishna Forgings Limited expects partial railway-wheel production to start in December after Indian Railways inspects its first 300 wheels, with management targeting supplies of 20,000 to 25,000 wheels in FY26. The December plan calls for output of 2,000 to 3,000 wheels before a fourth-quarter run rate of 4,000 to 5,000 wheels a month.
Know Ramkrishna Forgings inside out
Results, valuation, peers and who's buying, in one view.
When will Ramkrishna Forgings begin railway-wheel production?
Ramkrishna Forgings expects partial railway-wheel production to begin in December, subject to inspection and trial supply of its first 300 wheels. Management said in the Q2 FY26 call that the 300-wheel batch was ready, had been offered to the railways for inspection, and was being inspected while the call was under way in November.
The sequence disclosed by management is inspection, supply of the 300 wheels for trials, and then the first production phase in December. It expected the inspection to be completed within the next couple of weeks and the first batch to be supplied for trials after acceptance. The company did not provide a specific December production date.
The December expectation is later than the September-October supply timing referred to by an investor during the call. Ramkrishna Forgings did not state a separate reason for the change, but said the venture was at the railway-inspection stage in November and that commercial output would follow the 300-wheel trial batch.
What clearance does Ramkrishna Forgings need before supplies?
Ramkrishna Forgings said it does not need RDSO approval for the wheels discussed on the call; railway inspection of the 300-wheel batch is the immediate requirement. Management directly linked the first trial supply and December production plan to the railways completing inspection and approving the wheels.
The initial 300 wheels are intended for trials rather than regular monthly deliveries. That means the batch is the commissioning gate between completed manufacturing and the planned December output of 2,000 to 3,000 wheels. Management did not disclose the duration of trials or a date for the first recurring commercial delivery.
The inspection remains an unresolved timing factor in the December schedule. Management said it expected the process to conclude within a couple of weeks of the November Q2 FY26 call, but did not disclose whether the railways could require further testing, additional batches or changes before the initial production run.
How fast will Ramkrishna Forgings ramp wheel output?
Ramkrishna Forgings plans to produce 2,000 to 3,000 wheels in December and raise output to 4,000 to 5,000 wheels a month in the fourth quarter. Management described the fourth-quarter range as about 80% of immediate capacity, showing that December is intended as an initial, lower-output stage.
The planned increase from December to the fourth quarter is 2,000 wheels a month at the lower end of the ranges. At the upper end, the monthly rate rises from 3,000 to 5,000 wheels, also an increase of 2,000. The schedule therefore anticipates a rapid move from trial-linked production to recurring output within the same financial year.
In a later response, management referred to “full production” from the following quarter, while its earlier response put fourth-quarter output at about 80% of capacity. Ramkrishna Forgings did not reconcile the two descriptions or clarify whether full production referred to operational commissioning, a later capacity level, or a different measure of output.
Got a follow-up? Ask IRIS
What does the FY26 wheel target mean for the launch?
Ramkrishna Forgings expects to supply 20,000 to 25,000 wheels to railways in FY26, below the 30,000-wheel estimate raised by an analyst. The lower range reflects a launch year in which the 300-wheel inspection and trial process precedes a December production start rather than a full year of steady deliveries.
The FY26 volume range can be compared with the fourth-quarter target of 4,000 to 5,000 wheels a month. A six-month period at that rate would equate to 24,000 to 30,000 wheels, but the company expects only partial output from December after trial supplies. The 20,000 to 25,000 target is consequently consistent with a partial-year ramp.
The wheel venture is separate from Ramkrishna Forgings' existing railway business. An analyst cited railway revenue of about Rs 64 crore in the first quarter and Rs 65 crore in the second quarter, while management said demand and order flow in the railway segment were continuing. Management did not disclose FY26 revenue, pricing, margins or profit from wheel supplies.
Has Ramkrishna Forgings changed the wheel venture funding plan?
Ramkrishna Forgings said approval for Rs 56 crore concerns the second phase of the project and is not an extra equity infusion beyond the investment plan. Management said the Rs 20 crore it had committed remained part of the original investment and that the overall project cost remained intact.
Management said the first phase was complete and was designed to produce 140,000 wheels. The second phase, covered by the Rs 56 crore approval, adds another 140,000 of machining capability. Ramkrishna Forgings did not provide a timetable for commissioning the second phase or a revised amount of committed equity.
An investor asked about potential first-year losses at the joint venture after depreciation and interest costs begin, including Ramkrishna Forgings' 51% share. Management did not give a loss estimate, depreciation charge, interest cost or expected consolidated financial contribution. The disclosed plan therefore establishes output milestones but not near-term profitability.
Conclusion
Ramkrishna Forgings has set out a defined commissioning path: its first 300 wheels are under railway inspection, trial supplies are expected after acceptance, partial production is targeted for December, and fourth-quarter output is planned at 4,000 to 5,000 wheels a month. The FY26 target of 20,000 to 25,000 wheels indicates that the venture is expected to contribute only after a late-year ramp.
The next disclosed milestones are completion of railway inspection, trial supply of the 300 wheels, and evidence that December production reaches 2,000 to 3,000 wheels. Management's plan also leaves investors to watch for clarification on the meaning of full production, commissioning of the second phase with 140,000 machining capability, and any financial disclosure on revenue, depreciation, interest or profitability.


