MMP builds 10 lakh-unit insulator capacity, awaits utility approvals
Key highlights
- MMP has invested Rs 35-40 crore in polymer insulators and built annual capacity of 10 lakh units.
- MMP's polymer-insulator range covers 11 kV to 765 kV distribution and transmission applications.
- The polymer-insulator business contributed about 1% of MMP total revenue in H1FY27.
- MMP lists eight utility approvals, including POWERGRID and GETCO, as under process.
powered by IRIS

In H1FY27, MMP Industries Ltd had built annual capacity of 10 lakh polymer-insulator units after investing Rs 35-40 crore, while applications with POWERGRID and seven other utilities remained under process. The business contributed about 1% of total revenue and had secured export orders from Latin America and South Asia.
Know MMP Industries inside out
Results, valuation, peers and who's buying, in one view.
What has MMP built in polymer insulators?
MMP has developed a complete range of distribution and transmission polymer insulators rated from 11 kilovolt (kV) to 765 kV. The products are manufactured through MMP Electricals Private Limited and comprise a fibreglass-reinforced polymer rod, silicone rubber housing and metal end fittings.
The products are intended for power transmission and distribution networks, with lightweight construction, water repellence and pollution resistance listed as their stated properties. The 11 kV to 765 kV portfolio spans both distribution and transmission applications, rather than being limited to one voltage category.
How much capacity and capital has MMP committed?
MMP states that it has invested Rs 35-40 crore in the polymer-insulator operation and established annual manufacturing capacity of 10 lakh units. The presentation does not disclose when the capacity was commissioned, its utilisation level or revenue generated from the installed base.
The business represented about 1% of MMP's total revenue in H1FY27, compared with about 7% for conductors and cables and about 28% for aluminium foils. This comparison shows that the polymer-insulator operation was a smaller reported revenue contributor despite the disclosed 10 lakh-unit capacity and product range up to 765 kV.
Which MMP utility approvals are already in place?
MMP lists distribution approvals from MSEDCL, PGVCL, CSPDCL, GUVNL, O2 Power (JSW Group) and Adani Green Energy. These approvals cover the distribution category within a polymer-insulator range beginning at 11 kV.
For transmission, MMP lists approvals from HPSEBL and MSETCL. The presentation says factory inspections have been completed and registration and approval processes with major utilities are at an advanced stage, with further product approvals expected shortly.
Which polymer-insulator approvals is MMP still awaiting?
MMP lists eight organisations where polymer-insulator approval remains under process: POWERGRID, GETCO, Sterlite Power (Resonia), MPPTCL, KPTCL, TPCTCL, CSPTCL and OPTCL. The presentation gives no expected approval date for any individual utility.
The split between six approved distribution organisations, two approved transmission organisations and eight pending applications is relevant to the ramp-up. MMP has completed factory inspections and holds transmission approvals from HPSEBL and MSETCL, but the stated market-access process remains incomplete because POWERGRID, GETCO and six other applications are still under process.
Got a follow-up? Ask IRIS
How is MMP positioning the polymer-insulator ramp-up?
MMP has secured export orders from Latin America and South Asia, providing a route to demand outside the Indian utility-approval process. The presentation does not disclose order values, quantities, delivery schedules or the share of 10 lakh units of annual capacity assigned to these overseas orders.
Management presents the export orders alongside Indian utility registrations as support for international expansion and future growth opportunities. For H1FY27, however, the disclosed contribution remained about 1% of total revenue, and the presentation does not quantify when export orders or additional utility approvals would produce a larger reported revenue share.
What does the 765 kV range mean for MMP's product plan?
The 11 kV to 765 kV range means MMP can offer both distribution and transmission insulators within one disclosed portfolio. MSEDCL and GUVNL are among the approved distribution organisations, while HPSEBL and MSETCL are listed under transmission approvals.
The stated Rs 35-40 crore investment has funded capacity and a portfolio serving several voltage levels rather than a single utility specification. Commercial progress still depends on utility-specific registration and product approval, with eight named organisations shown as under process in the presentation.
Conclusion
MMP has created a 10 lakh-unit annual polymer-insulator platform, developed products from 11 kV to 765 kV and obtained approvals from six distribution organisations and two transmission organisations. Yet its H1FY27 revenue contribution of about 1% shows that the operation remained smaller than MMP's conductors and cables segment, at about 7%, and aluminium foils, at about 28%.
The next disclosed developments are approvals from POWERGRID, GETCO and six other named organisations, alongside execution of export orders from Latin America and South Asia. Management says inspections are complete and approvals are expected shortly, but the presentation gives neither approval dates nor export-order values, leaving the pace of revenue conversion unresolved.


